COMMITTEE MINUTES for WORKFORCE

Date: March 27, 2024 Location: Room 116

Convened: 2:40 PM

Adjourned: 2:45 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Dickey-CH, McClintock-VC, Donahue-RM, Boulton,

Dotzler, Driscoll, Gruenhagen, Guth, Rowley, Schultz, Taylor, J.,

Taylor, T.

Absent:

Excused:

Chair Dickey called the meeting to order at 2:40 PM.

Roll call was taken, and a quorum was present.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chair Dickey announced the electronic distribution of subcommittee assignments.

Senator Rowley was recognized for opening comments on the appointment of Claire Eilert to the Elevator Safety Board.

Senator Rowley gave opening comments. With no further discussion, Senator Rowley moved that Claire Eilert be placed on the Individual Calendar without recommendation.

Chair Dickey called for the vote and the motion to place Claire Eilert on the Individual Calendar without recommendation passed 12-0 on a voice vote.

Next, Chair Dickey recognized Senator J. Taylor for opening comments on the appointment of Catherine Lucas to the Public Employment Relations Board.

Senator J. Taylor gave opening comments and there was discussion.

Senator J. Taylor gave closing comments and moved that Catherine Lucas be placed on the Individual Calendar with recommendation.

Chair Dickey called for the vote and the motion to place Catherine Lucas on the Individual Calendar with recommendation passed 8-4 on a party line record roll call vote.

Next, Chair Dickey recognized Senator J. Taylor for opening comments on the reappointment of Catherine Lucas to the Public Employment Relations Board.

Senator J. Taylor gave opening comments and there was discussion.

Senator J. Taylor gave closing comments and moved that Catherine Lucas be placed on the Individual Calendar with recommendation.

Chair Dickey called for the vote and the motion to place Catherine Lucas on the Individual Calendar with recommendation passed 8-4 on a party line record roll call vote.

Chair Dickey made comments regarding the following Governor Appointees:

Ashley Koopmans – Employment Appeal Board

Matthew Oetker - Public Employment Relations Board, Chair and Member

Cheryl Arnold - Public Employment Relations Board, Executive Director

Jessica Dunker - Workforce Development Board, Iowa

Jayson Henry – Workforce Development Board, Iowa

Charles Wishman – Workforce Development Board, Iowa

Senator Driscoll moved for Ashley Koopmans, Matthew Oetker, Cheryl Arnold, Jessica Dunker, Jayson Henry, and Charles Wishman to all be placed on the En Bloc Calendar with recommendation.

Senator Dickey called for the vote and the motion to place Ashley Koopmans, Matthew Oetker, Cheryl Arnold, Jessica Dunker, Jayson Henry, and Charles Wishman on the En Bloc Calendar with recommendation passed 12-0 on a voice vote.

Senator Dickey thanked all of the members for their time and hard work this session. With no further business to come before the committee, Senator McClintock moved
the committee arise at 2:45 PM.
Canatan Adrian Dialore
Senator Adrian Dickey
Isaac Schaben, Committee Secretary