## COMMITTEE MINUTES for WAYS AND MEANS

Date: March 20, 2024 Location: RM 116

Convened: 3:30 PM

Adjourned: 4:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Dawson-CH, Koelker-VC, Jochum-RM, Bousselot, Brown,

Cournoyer, Dickey, Dotzler, Driscoll, Klimesh, Petersen, Quirmbach,

Rowley, Schultz, Taylor, T., Winckler, Zaun

Absent:

Excused: Senator Sweeney

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Dawson at 3:31 p.m. The secretary took a silent roll call with Senator Sweeney being excused. The subcommittee assignments were electronically distributed and the minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Senator Dawson introduced the following governor appointments: John Norem, Economic Development Authority; Dennis Loll, Property Assessment Appeal Board; and Matthew Connealy, Iowa Lottery Board of Directors. Senator Klimesh motioned to approve the appointees en bloc. Senator Zaun seconded the motion and the appointees were placed on the en bloc confirmation calendar.

Senator Dawson yielded the chair to Vice Chairwoman Koelker. Vice Chairwoman Koelker recognized Senator Dawson for <u>SF 182</u>. He gave opening comments and the bill was discussed. Senator Jochum requested a short form vote. The bill passed unanimously.

Vice Chairwoman Koelker recognized Senator Dawson for <u>SSB 3186</u> and its amendment .3725. He gave opening comments and the amendment was discussed. Senator Jochum requested a short form vote on the amendment and it passed unanimously. The bill as amended was discussed. Senator Jochum requested a short form vote with 11 "yes" votes and 6 "nay" votes. Those voting "nay" were Sens. Jochum, Dotzler, Petersen, T. Taylor, Quirmbach, and Winckler. The committee bill passed as amended and moved to the calendar under Rule 40.

Senator Koelker yielded the chair back to Chairman Dawson. Chairman Dawson recognized Senator Klimesh for <u>SF 564</u> and its amendment .3788. The amendment was discussed and unanimously approved on a short form vote. The committee bill as amended was discussed and passed unanimously on a short form vote under Rule 40. Chairman Dawson recognized Senator Cournoyer for <u>HF 2653</u>. The bill was discussed. <u>HF 2653</u> passed unanimously on a short form vote.

Chairman Dawson recognized Senator Schultz for <u>SSB 3189</u>. The committee bill was discussed and Sen. Jochum requested a voice vote with 11 "yes" votes and 6 "nay" votes. Those voting "nay" were Sens. Jochum, Dotzler, Petersen, T. Taylor, Quirmbach, and Winckler.

Chairman Dawson recognized Senator Schultz for <u>SF 2377</u>. The committee bill was discussed and Sen. Jochum requested a voice vote with 11 "yes" votes and 6 "nay" votes. Those voting "nay" were Sens. Jochum, Dotzler, Petersen, T. Taylor, Quirmbach, and Winckler.

Senator Zaun moved to adjourn the meeting at 4:03 p.m.

Senator Dan Dawson	
Haley Ledford, Committee Secretary	