House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: March 14, 2024 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *10:15 AM*

Adjourned: 10:20 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Holt-CH, Gustoff-VC, Wilburn-RM, Collins,

Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson, C.,

Wheeler, Wills, J.

Absent:

Excused: Representatives Olson, Wessel-Kroeschell

Chairman Holt called the Judiciary Committee meeting to order at 10:14 a.m. Roll call was taken with 19 members present Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills) and 2 excused (Representatives Olson and Wessel-Kroeschell).

The previous meeting minutes were approved.

Chairman Holt read the electronically assigned bills:

SF 386 – Wheeler-CH, Stone, James

SF 2186 - C. Thomson-CH, Holt, Scheetz

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Gustoff for opening comments on SF 525. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Gustoff moved SF 525. Chairman Holt moved SF 525 on a roll call vote of 14 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 5 nays (Representatives Wilburn, James, B. Meyer, Scheetz, and Srinivas) and 2 excused (Representatives Olson and Wessel-Kroeschell).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative C. Thomson for opening comments on <u>SF</u> 2186. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. C. Thomson moved <u>SF</u> 2186. Chairman Holt moved <u>SF</u> 2186 on a unanimous roll call vote of 19 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 2 excused (Representatives Olson and Wessel-Kroeschell).

Chairman Holt noted this meeting was the last Judiciary for the year and expressed his gratitude for the hard work and dedication the Committee exhibited.

Parking Mamber Wilhurn also expressed his appreciation for the good.

Ranking Member Wilburn also expressed his appreciation for the good communication between their offices in getting work done.

With no further business to come before the Committee, Representative Jones moved we arise at 10:19 a.m.

Representative	Steven Holt	

Angie Heartsill, Committee Secretary