## COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: February 15, 2024 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *9:25 AM*Adjourned: *9:50 AM* 

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Holt-CH, Gustoff-VC, Wilburn-RM, Collins,

Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson, C., Wessel-Kroeschell,

Wheeler, Wills, J.

Absent:

Excused: Representatives James, Olson, Srinivas

Chairman Holt announced both parties would be going to caucus.

Chairman Holt called the Judiciary Committee meeting to order at 9:24 a.m. Roll call was taken with 18 members present (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills) and 3 excused (Representatives James, Olson, and Srinivas).

The previous meeting minutes were approved.

Chairman Holt offered remarks on not running <u>HF 2256</u> through Judiciary Committee.

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on HSB 575 and he indicated there was Amendment .2856. Rep. Kaufmann offered opening comments on the amendment and there was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Kaufmann moved the amendment short form and it was approved. There was discussion on HSB 575, as amended. With no further discussion, Rep. Kaufmann moved HSB 575 as amended. Chairman Holt moved HSB 575 as amended, as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 18 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 3 excused (Representatives James, Olson, and Srinivas).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative A. Meyer for opening comments on <a href="HSB">HSB</a>
<a href="Tol:ABB">Tol:ABB</a>
<

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Collins for opening comments on <u>HSB</u> 702. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Collins moved <u>HSB 702</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 702</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 18 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 3 excused (Representatives James, Olson, and Srinivas).

Chairman Holt turned the Chair over to Vice Chair Gustoff.

Chair Gustoff recognized Representative Holt for opening comments on <u>HSB 703</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Holt was recognized for closing comments and moved <u>HSB 703</u>. Chair Gustoff moved <u>HSB 703</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 12 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Jones, Kaufmann, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler,

and J. Wills), 6 nays (Representatives Wilburn, Dunwell, Lohse, B. Meyer, Scheetz, Wessel-Kroeschell), and 3 excused (Representatives James, Olson, and Srinivas). Chair Gustoff returned the Chair to Chairman Holt.

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Collins for opening comments on <u>HSB</u> <u>705</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Collins moved <u>HSB 705</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 705</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 18 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 3 excused (Representatives James, Olson, and Srinivas).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Lohse for opening comments on HSB 706. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Lohse was recognized for closing comments and moved HSB 706. Chairman Holt moved HSB 706 as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 16 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, and Wessel-Kroeschell), 2 nays (Representatives Wheeler and J. Wills), and 3 excused (Representatives James, Olson, and Srinivas). Chairman Holt recognized Representative Dunwell for opening comments on HF 2227 and he indicated there was Amendment .2951. Rep. Dunwell offered opening comments on the amendment and there was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Dunwell moved the amendment short form and it was approved. With no further discussion, Rep. Dunwell was recognized for closing comments and moved HF 2227 as amended. Chairman Holt moved HF 2227 as amended, as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 18 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 3 excused (Representatives James, Olson, and Srinivas).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Jones for opening comments on <a href="HF 2083">HF 2083</a>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Jones moved <a href="HF 2083">HF 2083</a>. Chairman Holt moved <a href="HF 2083">HF 2083</a> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 16 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 2 nays (Representatives Wilburn and Wessel-Kroeschell), and 3 excused (Representatives James, Olson, and Srinivas).

With no further business to come before the Committee, Rep. Wilburn moved we arise at 9:47 a.m.

Representative Steven Holt	
Angie Heartsill, Committee Secretary	