\*House Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date: *February 14, 2024* 

Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *9:45 AM* 

Adjourned: 10:15 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Bloomingdale-CH, Harris-VC, Nielsen-RM, Baeth, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Cooling, Dunwell, Gjerde, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Matson, Sexton, Siegrist, Steckman, Wills, J., Wulf, Young, Zabner

Absent:

Excused: Representative Srinivas

Chairwoman Bloomingdale called the committee to order at 9:46 a.m., after both parties returned from caucus.

Roll call was taken and quorum was present with Representative Srinivas excused. The previous meeting minutes were approved.

Chairwoman Bloomingdale assigned the following bill:

HSB 710-Bloomindgale-CH, Harris, Zabner

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Young for opening comments on <u>HSB 664</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Young moved <u>HSB 664</u>. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved <u>HSB 664</u> on a roll call vote of 15 ayes, (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf, Young,) 7 nays, (Representative Nielsen, Baeth, Cooling, Gjerde, Matson, Steckman, Zabner) and 1 excused, (Representative Srinivas). <u>HSB 664</u> passed and moves to the floor as a committee bill.

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Bergan for opening comments on <u>HSB 695</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Bergan moved <u>HSB 695</u>. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved <u>HSB 695</u> on a roll call vote of 15 ayes, (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Wills, Wulf, Young,) 7 nays, (Representative Nielsen, Baeth, Cooling, Gjerde, Matson, Steckman, Zabner) and 1 excused, (Representative Srinivas). <u>HSB 695</u> passed and moves to the floor as a committee bill.

Chairwoman Bloomingdale turned the Chair over to Vice Chair Harris.

Chair Harris recognized Representative Bloomingdale for opening comments on <u>HSB</u> <u>710</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Bloomingdale moved <u>HSB 710</u>. Chair Harris moved <u>HSB 710</u> on a roll call vote of 20 ayes, (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris Nielsen, Baeth, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Cooling, Dunwell, Golding, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Steckman, Wills, Wulf, Young, Zabner) 2 nays,(Representative Gjerde, Matson) and 1 excused (Representative Srinivas). <u>HSB 710</u> passed and moves to the floor as a committee bill.

Chair Harris turned the Chair back over to Chairwoman Bloomingdale. Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Sexton for opening comments on <u>HF 83</u>. Rep Sexton indicated there was an amendment. Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Rep. Sexton for opening comments on Amendment 83.2902. There was discussion. Rep. Sexton moved the amendment short form. The amendment passed. There was discussion on <u>HF 83</u> as amended. With no further discussion, Rep. Sexton moved <u>HF 83</u> as amended. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved <u>HF 83</u> as amended on a roll call vote of 18 ayes, (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Nielsen, Baeth, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Dunwell, Johnson, Kaufmann, Lundgren, Sexton, Siegrist, Steckman, Wills, Wulf, Young, Zabner) 4 nays,(Representative Cooling, Gjerde, Golding, Matson) and 1 excused (Representative Srinivas). <u>HF 83</u> as amended passed and moves to the floor as a committee bill.

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Siegrist for opening comments on <u>HF 2375</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Siegrist moved <u>HF 2375</u>. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved <u>HF 2375</u> on unanimous roll call vote of 22 ayes, 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Srinivas). <u>HF 2375</u> passed and moves to the floor.

Chairwoman Bloomingdale recognized Representative Bossman for opening comments on <u>HSB 662</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Bossman moved <u>HSB 662</u>. Chairwoman Bloomingdale moved <u>HSB 662</u> on a roll call vote of 19 ayes, (Representative Bloomingdale, Harris, Nielsen, Baeth, Bergan, Bossman, Collins, Cooling, Dunwell, Gjerde, Johnson, Kaufmann, Matson, Sexton, Siegrist, Steckman, Wulf, Young, Zabner) 3 nay (Representative Golding, Lundgren, Wills) and 1 excused (Representative Srinivas). <u>HSB 662</u> passed and moves to the floor as a committee bill.

With no further business to come before the Committee, Representative Sexton moved to adjourn at 10:13 a.m.

Seconded by Chairwoman Bloomingdale.

Representative Jane Bloomingdale

Danielle Heartsill, Committee Secretary