\*House Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: *February 13, 2024* 

Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: **9:00** AM

Adjourned: 9:40 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Holt-CH, Gustoff-VC, Wilburn-RM, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson, C., Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wills, J.

Absent:

Excused: Representative James

Chairman Holt called the Judiciary Committee meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. Roll call was taken with 19 members present (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills) and 2 excused (Representatives James and Nordman). The previous meeting minutes were approved. Chairman Holt read the electronically assigned bills: HSB 693 – A. Meyer-CH, Collins, Srinivas HF 2348 – C. Thomson-CH, Gustoff, Scheetz Chairman Holt assigned the following bills: HSB 701- A. Meyer-CH, Holt, Srinivas HSB 702 - Collins-CH, Stone, Olson HSB 703 – Holt-CH, Wheeler, James Chairman Holt recognized Representative Gustoff for opening comments on SF 295 and he indicated there was Amendment .2780. Rep. Gustoff offered opening comments on the amendment and there was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Gustoff moved the amendment short form and it was approved. With no further discussion on SF 295 as amended, Rep. Gustoff moved SF 295 as amended. Chairman Holt moved SF 295 as amended, as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 19 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 2 excused (Representatives James and Nordman). Chairman Holt recognized Representative Gustoff for opening comments on HF 2344. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Gustoff was recognized for closing comments and moved HF 2344. Chairman Holt moved HF 2344 as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 19 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 2 excused (Representatives James and Nordman). Representative Nordman arrived to Committee. Chairman Holt recognized Representative C. Thomson for opening comments on HSB 608 and he indicated there was Amendment .2731. Rep. C. Thomson offered

opening comments on the amendment and there was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. C. Thomson moved the amendment short form and it was approved. There was discussion on <u>HSB 608</u> as amended. With no further discussion, Rep C. Thomson moved <u>HSB 608</u> as amended. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 608</u> as amended, as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 18 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, Kaufmann, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Olson,

Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 1 nay (Representative Lohse), 1 R-76 (Representative Jones) and 1 excused (Representative James).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on HF 2097. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Kaufmann offered closing comments and moved HF 2097. Chairman Holt moved HF 2097 as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 14 aves (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 6 nays (Representatives Wilburn, B. Meyer, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell), and 1 excused (Representative James). Chairman Holt recognized Representative J. Wills for opening comments on HF 2114 and he indicated there was Amendment .2739. Rep. J. Wills gave opening comments on the amendment and there was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. J. Wills moved the amendment short form and it was approved. With no further discussion on HF 2114 as amended, Rep. J. Wills moved HF 2114 as amended. Chairman Holt moved <u>HF 2114</u> as amended, as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 13 aves (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 7 nays (Representatives Wilburn, Lohse, B. Meyer, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell), and 1 excused (Representative James).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative J. Wills for opening comments on HF 2230. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Wills was recognized for closing comments and moved HF 2230. Chairman Holt moved HF 2230 as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 12 aves (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 8 nays (Representatives Wilburn, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell), and 1 excused (Representative James). Chairman Holt recognized Representative C. Thomson for opening comments on HF 2255. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. C. Thomson offered closing comments and moved HF 2255. Chairman Holt moved HF 2255 as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 15 ayes (Representatives Holt, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 5 nays (Representatives Gustoff, Wilburn, Lohse, Olson, and Srinivas), and 1 excused (Representative James). Chairman Holt announced bills that would be caucused on today, in advance of the next Judiciary meeting.

With no further business to come before the Committee, Representative Kaufmann moved we arise at 9:40 a.m.

Representative Steven Holt

Angie Heartsill, Committee Secretary