House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: *February 8, 2024*

Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *9:00 AM*

Adjourned: 9:40 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Holt-CH, Gustoff-VC, Wilburn-RM, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson, C., Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wills, J.

Absent:

Excused: Representative Olson

Chairman Holt called the Judiciary Committee meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. Roll call was taken with 20 members present (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills) and 1 excused (Representative Olson).

The previous meeting minutes were approved.

Chairman Holt read the electronically assigned bills:

HSB 659 – Lohse-CH, Dunwell, James

HSB 660 – Gustoff-CH, C. Thomson, Scheetz

HSB 677 – Collins-CH, P. Thompson, Scheetz

HF 2344 – Gustoff-CH, Lohse, Scheetz

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Lohse for opening comments on <u>HSB 529</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Lohse moved <u>HSB 529</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 529</u> as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 20 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Olson).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Lohse for opening comments on <u>HSB 530</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Lohse moved <u>HSB 530</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 530</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 14 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 6 nays (Representatives Wilburn, James, B. Meyer, Scheetz, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell), and 1 excused (Representative Olson).

Chairman Holt turned the Chair over to Vice Chair Gustoff.

Chair Gustoff recognized Representative Holt for opening comments on <u>HSB 614</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Holt was recognized for closing comments and moved <u>HSB 614</u>. Chair Gustoff moved <u>HSB 614</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 14 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 6 nays (Representatives Wilburn, James, B. Meyer, Scheetz, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell), and 1 excused (Representatives Olson). Chair Gustoff turned the Chair back over to Chairman Holt.

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on <u>HSB</u> 635. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Kaufmann moved <u>HSB</u> 635. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 635</u> as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 20 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P.

Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Olson).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Gustoff for opening comments on <u>HSB 645</u> and he indicated there was Amendment .2747. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Gustoff moved the amendment short form and it was approved. With no further discussion on <u>HSB 645</u> as amended, Rep. Gustoff moved <u>HSB 645</u> as amended. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 645</u> as amended as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 20 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Olson).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Lohse for opening comments on <u>HF 594</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Lohse moved <u>HF 594</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HF 594</u> as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 20 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Olson).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Lohse for opening comments on <u>HF 618</u> and he indicated there was Amendment .2646 and offered opening comments on the amendment. With no discussion, Rep. Lohse moved the amendment short form and it was approved. With no further discussion on <u>HF 618</u> as amended, Rep. Lohse moved <u>HF 618</u> as amended. Chairman Holt moved <u>HF 618</u> as amended as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 20 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Olson).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Lohse for opening comments on <u>HF 2095</u>. With no discussion, Rep. Lohse moved <u>HF 2095</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HF 2095</u> as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 20 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Olson). Chairman Holt noted bills that would be caucused on today, in advance of the next Judiciary meeting and notified the Committee he would provide pizza next Wednesday during the meeting.

With no further business to come before the Committee, Representative Kaufmann moved we arise at 9:38 a.m.

Representative Steven Holt

Angie Heartsill, Committee Secretary