## COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

Date: February 7, 2024 Location: RM 19

Convened: *9:45 AM*Adjourned: *10:15 AM* 

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Thompson, P.-CH, Vondran-VC, Kressig-RM, Abdul-

Samad, Amos Jr., Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Kurth, Levin, Meggers, Meyer, B., Mohr, G., Olson, Scheetz, Shipley,

Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wilz, H.

Absent:

Excused: Representative Rinker

Chairman Thompson called the meeting to order at 9:55 a.m.

Roll call was taken with 22 members present and 1 excused (Representative Rinker).

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairman Thompson read the assignment of bills.

The following subcommittees have been electronically assigned:

HSB 665 – Holt (CH), Thompson, Kressig

HSB 615

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Shipley for opening comments for HSB 615.
- There are 2 amendments.
- Representative B.Meyer moved Amend .2698 to <u>HSB 615</u> and requested a recorded vote.
- Amend .2698 to <u>HSB 615</u> failed on a division of record vote, 14 nays (Representatives Thompson, P., Vondran, Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Meggers, Mohr, G., Olson, Shipley, Wheeler, Wilz, H.) and 8 nays (Representatives Kressig, Abdul-Samad, Amos Jr., Kurth, Levin, Meyer, B., Scheetz, Wessel-Kroeschell) with 1 excused (Representative Rinker).
- Representative B. Meyer moved Amend .2703 to <u>HSB 615</u> and requested a recorded vote.
- Amend .2703 to <u>HSB 615</u> failed on a division of record vote, 14 nays (Representatives Thompson, P., Vondran, Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Meggers, Mohr, G., Olson, Shipley, Wheeler, Wilz, H.) and 8 nays (Representatives Kressig, Abdul-Samad, Amos Jr., Kurth, Levin, Meyer, B., Scheetz, Wessel-Kroeschell) with 1 excused (Representative Rinker).
- The committee moved back to the bill <u>HSB 615</u> and there was discussion.
- Representative Shipley was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HSB</u> 615.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HSB 615</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 13 yeas (Representatives Thompson, P., Vondran, Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Meggers, Mohr, G., Shipley, Wheeler, Wilz, H.) and 9 nays (Representatives Kressig, AbdulSamad, Amos Jr., Kurth, Levin, Meyer, B., Olson, Scheetz, Wessel Kroeschell) with 1 excused (Representative Rinker).

## **HSB 618**

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Meggers for opening comments for HSB 618.
- There was discussion.

- Representative Meggers was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HSB</u> 618.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HSB 618</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 13 yeas (Representatives Thompson, P., Vondran, Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Meggers, Mohr, G., Shipley, Wheeler, Wilz, H.) and 9 nays (Representative Kressig, Abdul-Samad, Amos Jr., Kurth, Levin, Meyer, B., Olson, Scheetz, Wessel-Kroeschell).

## HF 2080

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Vondran for opening comments for <u>HF 2080</u>.
- There was discussion.
- Representative Vondran was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HF</u> 2080.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HF 2080</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 22 yeas and 0 nays with 1 excused (Representative Rinker).

## HF 2089

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Dieken for opening comments for HF 2089.
- There was discussion.
- Representative Dieken was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HF</u> 2089.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HF 2089</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 22 yeas and 0 nays with 1 excused (Representative Rinker).

With no further business to come before the committee, Chairman Thompson motioned to adjourn, seconded by Scheetz. The meeting was adjourned at 10:10 a.m.

Representative Phil Thompson

Jamie Spangler, Committee Secretary