## COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: February 1, 2024 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *9:05 AM*Adjourned: *9:55 AM* 

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Holt-CH, Gustoff-VC, Wilburn-RM, Collins,

Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Olson, Srinivas, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson, C., Wessel-

Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wills, J.

Absent:

Excused: Representative Scheetz

Chairman Holt called the Judiciary Committee meeting to order at 9:05 a.m. Roll call was taken with 19 members present (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills) and 2 excused (Representatives Olson and Scheetz).

The previous meeting minutes were approved.

Chairman Holt read the electronically assigned bills:

HSB 635 - Kaufmann-CH, J. Wills, Srinivas

HF 2114 – J. Wills-CH, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell

Chairman Holt assigned the following bills:

HSB 645 – Gustoff-CH, J. Wills, Srinivas

HF 2227 – Dunwell-CH, Lohse, Olson

HF 2230 – J. Wills-CH, Collins, Wessel-Kroeschell

Chairman Holt turned the Chair over to Vice Chair Gustoff.

Chair Gustoff recognized Representative Holt for opening comments on <u>HSB 552</u> and he indicated there was Amendment .2596. Rep. Holt offered opening comments on the amendment. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Holt moved the amendment short form and it was approved. There was discussion on <u>HSB 552</u>, as amended. With no further discussion, Rep. Holt moved <u>HSB 552</u>, as amended. Chair Gustoff moved <u>HSB 552</u>, as amended as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 13 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 6 nays (Representatives Wilburn, James, Lohse, B. Meyer, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell), and 2 excused (Representatives Olson and Scheetz).

Chair Gustoff turned the Chair back over to Chairman Holt.

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on HSB 533 and he indicated there was Amendment .2599. Rep. Kaufmann offered opening comments on the amendment. With no discussion, Rep. Kaufmann moved the amendment short form. Amendment .2599 was approved. There was discussion on HSB 533, as amended. With no further discussion, Rep. Kaufmann moved HSB 533, as amended. Chairman Holt moved HSB 533, as amended as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 19 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 2 excused (Representatives Olson and Scheetz).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative A. Meyer for opening comments on <u>HSB 573</u>. Representative Olson arrived to Committee. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. A. Meyer moved <u>HSB 573</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 573</u> as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 20 ayes (Representatives Holt,

Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Olson, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Scheetz). Chairman Holt recognized Representative Gustoff for opening comments on HSB 574. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Gustoff moved HSB 574. Chairman Holt moved HSB 574 as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 20 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, B. Meyer, Nordman, Olson, Srinivas, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 0 nays, and 1 excused (Representative Scheetz).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Collins for opening comments on HF 2128. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Collins offered closing comments and moved HF 2128. Chairman Holt moved HF 2128 as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 13 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and J. Wills), 7 nays (Representatives Wilburn, James, Lohse, B. Meyer, Olson, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell), and 1 excused (Representative Scheetz).

.

Chairman Holt noted bills that would be caucused on today, in advance of the next Judiciary meeting.

With no further business to come before the Committee, Representative Kaufmann moved we arise at 9:55 a.m.

Representative Steven H	lolt
Angie Heartsill, Commi	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·