\*House Committee\*

# COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

Date: January 31, 2024

Location: RM 19

Convened: *9:55 AM* 

Adjourned: 10:25 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Thompson, P.-CH, Vondran-VC, Kressig-RM, Abdul-Samad, Amos Jr., Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Kurth, Levin, Meggers, Meyer, B., Mohr, G., Olson, Rinker, Scheetz, Shipley, Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wilz, H.

Absent:

Excused:

Chairman Thompson called the meeting to order at 9:55 a.m.

Roll call was taken with 23 members present and no one absent.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairman Thompson read the assignment of bills.

The following subcommittees have been electronically assigned:

HF 2089 – Dieken (CH), Rinker, Scheetz

HF 518 – Gustoff (CH), Shipley, Olson

HSB 615 – Shipley (CH), Gustoff, Meyer B.

HSB 634 – Thompson (CH) Gustoff, Olson

HF 2206 – Thompson (CH), Meggers, Meyer B.

HSB 618 – Meggers (CH) Gustoff, Meyer B.

The following subcommittee was electronically assigned:

HF 2080 – Vondran (CH), Thompson, Levin

<u>HF 2011</u>

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Vondran for opening comments for <u>HF 2011</u>.
- There was discussion.
- Representative Vondran was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HF</u> <u>2011</u>.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HF 2011</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 15 yeas Representatives Thompson, P.CH, Vondran, Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Meggers, Mohr, G., Olson, Rinker, Shipley, Wheeler, Wilz, H.) and 8 nays (Representatives Kressig, AbdulSamad, Amos Jr., Kurth, Levin, Meyer, B., Scheetz, Wessel Kroeschell).

### <u>HF 2010</u>

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Meggers for opening comments for <u>HF 2010</u>.
- There was discussion.
- Representative Meggers was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HF</u> <u>2010</u>.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HF 2010</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 22 yeas (Representatives Thompson, P., Vondran, Kressig, AbdulSamad, Amos Jr., Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Kurth, Levin, Meggers, Meyer, B., Mohr, G., Olson, Scheetz, Shipley, Wessel Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wilz, H.) and 1 nay (Representative Rinker).

## <u>HSB 531</u>

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Gustoff for opening comments for <u>HSB 531</u>.
- There was discussion.
- Representative Gustoff was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HSB</u> <u>531</u>.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HSB 531</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 23 yeas and 0 nays.

# <u>HSB 525</u>

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Meggers for opening comments for <u>HSB 525</u>.
- There was discussion.
- Representative Meggers was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HSB</u> <u>525</u>.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HSB 525</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 23 yeas and 0 nays.

## <u>HSB 523</u>

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Shipley for opening comments for <u>HSB 523</u>.
- There is an amendment.
- Representative Shipley moved Amend .2501 to <u>HSB 523</u> and requested a short form vote.
- Amend .2501 to <u>HSB 523</u> passed short form.
- The committee moved back to <u>HSB 523</u> as amended and there was discussion.
- Representative Shipley was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HSB</u> <u>523</u>, as amended.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HSB 523</u> as amended as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 22 yeas (Representatives Thompson, P., Vondran, Kressig, AbdulSamad, Amos Jr., Dieken, Fisher, Fry, Gustoff, Henderson, Holt, Kurth, Meggers, Meyer, B., Mohr, G., Olson, Rinker, Scheetz, Shipley, Wessel Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wilz, H.) and 1 nay (Representative Levin).

### <u>HSB 551</u>

- Chairman Thompson recognized Representative Fisher for opening comments for <u>HSB 551</u>.
- There was discussion.
- Representative Fisher was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HSB 551</u>.
- Chairman Thompson moved <u>HSB 551</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 23 yeas and 0 nays.

With no further business to come before the committee, Chairman Thompson motioned to adjourn, seconded by Mohr. The meeting was adjourned at 10:15 a.m.

Representative Phil Thompson