## COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: January 25, 2024 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *10:00 AM* 

Adjourned: 10:15 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Holt-CH, Gustoff-VC, Wilburn-RM, Collins,

Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson,

C., Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, Wills, J.

Absent:

Excused:

Chairman Holt called the Judiciary Committee meeting to order at 10 a.m.

Roll call was taken with all members present.

The previous meeting minutes were approved.

Chairman Holt read the electronically assigned bills:

HSB 105 – Stone-CH, P. Thompson, Wilburn

HSB 608 – C. Thomson-CH, Holt, Srinivas

HSB 614 – Holt-CH, Wheeler, James

HF 649 – Gustoff-CH, Collins, B. Meyer

HF 2095 – Lohse-CH, Jones, B. Meyer

HF 2097 – Kaufmann-CH, Wills, James

HF 2082- C. Thomson-CH, Wills, Scheetz

HF 2083- Jones-CH, C. Thomson, James

HF 2103 - Wills-CH, Holt, Srinivas

HF 2111- Dunwell-CH, Lohse, Wessel-Kroeschell

HF 2112- Holt-CH, Wheeler, Olson

HF 2128 - Collins-CH, Wheeler, Scheetz

HF 2078 - Kaufmann-CH, Wheeler, Olson

Chairman Holt read the reassignment of HSB 533 as Kaufmann-CH, Wills, Olson.

Chairman Holt assigned SF 295 to Gustoff-CH, C. Thomson, Scheetz.

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Wheeler for opening comments on HSB

<u>507</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Wheeler moved <u>HSB</u>

507. Chairman Holt moved HSB 507 as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 14 ayes (Representatives Holt, Gustoff, Collins, Dunwell, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, A. Meyer, Nordman, Stone, P. Thompson, C. Thomson, Wheeler, and Wills), and 7 nays

(Representatives Wilburn, James, B. Meyer, Olson, Scheetz, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Wills for opening comments on <u>HSB 510</u>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Wills moved <u>HSB 510</u>.

Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 510</u> as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 21 ayes and 0 nays.

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Lohse for opening comments on <u>HF 2006</u>. There was discussion. Representative Jones indicated she would recuse herself. With no further discussion, Rep. Lohse moved <u>HF 2006</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HF 2006</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 20 ayes, 0 nays, and 1 R-76 (Representative Jones).

Chairman Holt noted bills that would be caucused on today, in advance of the next Judiciary meeting.

With no further business to come before the Committee, Representative Kaufmann moved we arise at 10:13 a.m.

Angie Heartsill, Committee S		