## COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: January 18, 2024 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *10:30 AM* 

Recessed: 10:35 AM

Reconvened: 10:40 AM

Adjourned: 10:50 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Holt-CH, Wilburn-RM, Collins, Dunwell, James,

Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson, C., Wessel-Kroeschell,

Wheeler, Wills, J.

Absent:

Excused: Representatives Gustoff-VC, Olson

Chairman Holt called the Judiciary Committee meeting to order at 10:30 a.m. Roll call was taken with nineteen members present (Representatives Holt, Wilburn, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Scheetz, Srinivas, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson, C., Wessel-Kroeschell, Wheeler, and Wills, J.) and two members excused (Representatives Gustoff and Olson). The previous meeting minutes were approved.

Chairman Holt read the electronically assigned bills:

HF 468 - C. Thomson-CH, Kaufmann, Olson

HF 2046 - Collins-CH, C. Thomson, James

HF 2048 - C. Thomson-CH, Gustoff, Scheetz

HF 2049 - C. Thomson-CH, Gustoff, Srinivas

HF 2050 - C. Thomson-CH, Wheeler, Wilburn

HF 2051 - Gustoff-CH, Nordman, Srinivas

HF 2058 - Lohse-CH, Kaufmann, Wilburn

Chairman Holt assigned the following bills:

HSB 573 – A. Meyers-CH, Collins, Scheetz

HSB 574 - Gustoff-CH, C. Thomson, Srinivas

HSB 575 – Kaufmann-CH, P. Thompson, B. Meyer

Chairman Holt recognized Representative Dunwell for opening comments on <u>HSB</u> <u>505</u>.

Ranking Member Wilburn called a caucus at 10:32 a.m. and both parties went to caucus.

Chairman Holt called the Committee back to order at 10:42 a.m. and recognized Representative Dunwell for opening remarks on <a href="HSB 505">HSB 505</a>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Dunwell was recognized for closing remarks and moved <a href="HSB 505">HSB 505</a>. Chairman Holt moved <a href="HSB 505">HSB 505</a> as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 19 ayes, 0 nays, and 2 excused (Reps. Gustoff and Olson). Chairman Holt recognized Representative Collins for opening remarks on <a href="HSB 512">HSB 512</a>. There was discussion. With no further discussion, Rep. Collins was recognized for closing remarks and moved <a href="HSB 512">HSB 512</a>. Chairman Holt moved <a href="HSB 512">HSB 512</a> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 16 ayes (Reps. Holt, Collins, Dunwell, James, Jones, Kaufmann, Lohse, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Nordman, Scheetz, Stone, Thompson, P., Thomson, C., Wheeler, and Wills, J.), 3 nays (Reps. Wilburn, Srinivas, and Wessel-Kroeschell) and 2 excused (Reps. Gustoff and Olson).

Chairman Holt recognized Representative C. Thomson for opening remarks on <u>HSB</u> 526. With no discussion, Rep. C. Thomson was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HSB 526</u>. Chairman Holt moved <u>HSB 526</u> as a committee bill on a unanimous roll call vote of 19 ayes, 0 nays, and 2 excused (Reps. Gustoff and Olson). Chairman Holt noted bills that would be caucused on today, in advance of the next Judiciary meeting.

With no further business to come before the Committee, Representative James moved we arise at 10:50 a.m.

Representative Steven Holt	
Angie Heartsill, Committee S	ecretary