Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for COMMERCE

Date: April 11, 2023 Location: RM 116

Convened: *10:40 AM*

Adjourned: 10:50 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Brown-CH, Bousselot-VC, Giddens-RM, Bisignano,

Dawson, De Witt, Dickey, Gruenhagen, Jochum, Klimesh, Knox, Koelker, Petersen, Rowley, Schultz, Trone Garriott, Webster, Westrich

Absent:

Excused:

Commerce Committee 4/11/2023

Chairman Brown called the Senate Commerce Committee meeting on April 11, 2023 to order at 10:40 following Republican and Democratic caucus. Roll call was taken with all members of the committee present for the meeting. The minutes of the previous meeting on 3/21/2023 were unanimously approved.

Chair Brown recognized Senator Klimesh for <u>SSB 1101</u>. Senator Jochum was recognized for comments. A short form voice vote was requested and the bill passed unanimously with 18 yeas and 0 nays.

Senator Brown motioned the following appointees to the EnBloc for approval:

As a member of the Alcoholic Beverages Commission: Andrea Chase

As a member of the Bioscience Development Corporation: Rebecca Fusselman – (Appt.) Rebecca Fusselman –(Reappt.)

As members of the Credit Union Review Board: Omar Jordan, Megan Tjernagel As members of the Iowa Finance Authority Board of Directors: Ashley Aust, Michel Nelson, Gilbert Thomas

As members of the Real Estate Commission: Wendy Carminhato, James Clingman, Alicia Porter, Tanner Westberg

As members of the Title Guaranty Division Board: Sam Erickson, Jason Froehlich A short form voice vote was requested and the appointees passed to the En Bloc unanimously with 18 yeas and 0 nays.

Senator Brown recognized Senator Koelker for the Governor's appointee of the Executive Director of the Iowa Finance Authority: Deborah (Debi) Durham. Senator Brown recognized Senator Petersen for comments.

A short form voice vote was requested and passed for the appointment of Executive Director of the Iowa Finance Authority: Deborah (Debi) Durham unanimously with 18 yeas and 0 nays.

Senator Brown recognized Senator Webster for the Governor's appointee of Superintendent of Credit Unions: Katie Averill.

A short form voice vote was requested and passed for the appointment of Superintendent of Credit Unions: Katie Averill unanimously with 18 yeas and 0 nays. Senator Westrich moved to adjourn the meeting at 10:40.

Senator	Waylon	Brown	

Theresa Hildreth, Committee Secretary