House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for WAYS AND MEANS

Date:	March 21, 2023	Location: RM 102, Sup. Ct. Consult
Convened:	9:00 AM	
Recessed:	9:05 AM	
Reconvened:	9:40 AM	
Adjourned:	10:00 AM	
Attendance Ro Present:	ce Roll Call: Representatives Kaufmann-CH, Kniff McCulla-VC, Jacoby-RM, Bloomingdale, Boden, Croken, Deyoe, Forbes, Gjerde, Harris, Isenhart, Johnson, Jones, Judge, Kurth, Lundgren, Nielsen, Osmundson, Sexton, Siegrist, Thompson, P., Wills, J., Wilson, Wulf	
Absent:		

Excused: Representative Best

Chairman Kaufmann called the committee to order at 9:00. Both parties will go to caucus.

Chairman Kaufmann reconvened the meeting at 9:40. The roll call was taken, and a quorum was present with Rep Best excused.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved

Consideration of Bills:

Chairman Kaufmann recognized Rep Bloomingdale for <u>HF 267</u>. Rep Bloomingdale explained the bill and opened the floor. There was no discussion, and Rep Bloomingdale made closing comments. Chairman Kaufmann moved the bill to a vote. With 20 ayes (Reps Kaufmann, Kniff McCulla, Bloomingdale, Boden, Deyoe, Gjerde, Isenhart, Harris, Johnson, Jones, Judge, Kurth, Lundgren, Osmundson, Sexton, Siegrist, Thompson, P. Wills, Wilson, Wulf) and 4 nays (Reps Jacoby, Croken, Forbes, Nielsen) the bill moves forward as a committee bill.

Chairman Kaufmann recognized Rep Jones for <u>HF 457</u>. Rep Jones explained the bill and opened the floor for discussion. There was discussion. Rep Jones made closing comments on <u>HF 457</u>, and Chairman Kaufmann moved the bill to a vote. With 24 ayes, the bill unanimously passed and moves forward as a committee bill.

Chairman Kaufmann recognized Rep Siegrist for <u>HF 458</u>. Rep Siegrist made opening comments, and with no discussion, closed on the bill. Chairman Kaufmann moved the bill to a vote. With 24 ayes, the bill unanimously passed and moves forward as a committee bill.

Chairman Kaufmann recognized Rep Lundgren for <u>HF 525</u>. Rep Lundgren made opening comments; there is an amendment. Rep Lundgren opens on amendment .1235. There was discussion on the amendment. Chairman Kaufmann moves the amendment to a vote in short form. The amendment is adopted. Back on the bill as amended, Rep Lundgren made closing comments and Chairman Kaufmann moved the bill to a vote. With 24 ayes, the bill as amended unanimously passed and moves forward as a committee bill.

Chairman Kaufmann recognized Rep Kniff McCulla for <u>HF 641</u>. Rep Kniff McCulla explained the bill and opened the floor. There was no discussion, Rep Kniff McCulla closed on the bill. Chairman Kaufmann moved the bill to a vote. With 24 ayes, the bill unanimously passed and moves forward as a committee bill.

Chairman Kaufmann recognized Rep Jones for <u>HSB 225</u>. Rep Jones made opening comments on the bill. There is an amendment. Rep Jones explains amendment .1165. There was discussion. Chairman Kaufmann moved the amendment to a vote in short

form. The amendment is adopted. On the bill as amended, Rep Jones made closing comments. Chairman Kaufmann moved the bill as amended to a vote. With 24 ayes, the bill unanimously passed and moves forward as a committee bill.

Chairman Kaufmann recognized Rep Deyoe for opening comments on <u>HSB 230</u>. Rep Deyoe made opening comments. There is an amendment. Rep Deyoe explained amendment .1166 and opened the floor for discussion. Chairman Kaufmann moved the amendment in short form. The amendment is adopted. Rep Deyoe made closing comments on <u>HSB 230</u> as amended, and Chairman Kaufmann moved the bill to a vote. With 24 ayes, the bill as amended unanimously passed and moves forward as a committee bill.

Chairman Kaufmann recognized Rep Harris for <u>HSB 231</u>. Rep Harris explained the bill and opened the floor. There was discussion. Rep Harris made closing comments on the bill, and Chairman Kaufmann moved the bill to a vote. With 24 ayes, the bill unanimously passed and moves forward as a committee bill.

With no other business, Rep Jacoby moved to arise at 10:00.

Representative Bobby Kaufmann

David Wade, Committee Secretary