House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Date: February 21, 2023 Location: RM 19

Convened: 1:00 PM

Recessed: 1:05 PM

Reconvened: 1:40 PM

Adjourned: 2:10 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Latham-CH, Golding-VC, Abdul-Samad-RM, Amos

Jr., Bloomingdale, Cooling, Croken, Determann, Deyoe, Dunwell, Gehlbach, Gustafson, Henderson, Nielsen, Nordman, Osmundson,

Rinker, Staed, Stoltenberg, Wilson

Absent:

Excused: Representative Gaines

The Local Government Meeting convened at 1:04 pm on Tuesday, February, 21st 2023 when Chair Latham called the meeting to order. Roll call was taken and quorum was present with Rep. Gaines excused. The previous meeting's minutes were approved and Chair Latham announced at 1:06 pm that the Local Government Committee would immediately caucus.

Local Government reconvened at 1:40 pm and Chair Latham assigned <u>HF 295</u> - Determann - CH, Croken, Dunwell and <u>HF 296</u> Golding- CH, Cooling, Deyoe. Chair Latham also announced the electronic assignment of <u>HF 289</u> - (Nordman - CH, Gustafson, Croken). Following this, the committee moved into consideration of bills.

- HF 42 Gehlbach CH, Stoltenberg, Wilson
 - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Gehlbach for opening comments on <u>HF</u> 42.
 - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Gehlbach for opening comments on amendment .286 to <u>HF 42</u>.
 - Discussion took place on amendment .286
 - The amendment .286 was moved and a short form vote was requested.
 - Amendment .286 passed unanimously.
 - Discussion took place on HF 42, as amended.
 - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Gehlbach for closing comments on <u>HF 42</u> as amended.
 - Rep. Gehlbach moved HF 42, as amended.
 - HF 42 as amended passed to the floor with a vote of 18 Yeas
 (Representatives Latham, Golding, Abdul-Samad, Amos Jr.,
 Bloomingdale, Cooling, Croken, Determann, Dunwell, Gehlbach,
 Gustafson, Henderson, Nielsen, Osmundson, Rinker, Staed,
 Stoltenberg, Wilson), 2 Nays (Representatives Deyoe and Nordman) and
 1 excused Rep. Gaines.
- HF 196 Gehlbach CH, Gaines, Henderson
 - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Gehlbach for opening comments on HF 196.
 - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Abdul-Samad for opening comments on amendment .346 to HF 196.
 - Discussion took place on amendment .346
 - The amendment .346 was moved by Rep. Abdul-Samad.

- Amendment .346 failed with a vote of 7 Yeas (Representatives Abdul-Samad, Amos Jr., Cooling, Croken, Nielsen, Staed, Wilson), 13 Nays (Representatives Latham, Golding, Bloomingdale, Determann, Devoe, Dunwell, Gehlbach, Gustafson, Henderson, Nordman, Osmundson, Rinker, Stoltenberg) and 1 excused - Rep. Gaines.
- Chair Latham recognized Rep. Abdul-Samad for opening comments on amendment .366 to HF 196.
- Discussion took place on amendment .366
- The amendment .366 was moved by Rep. Abdul-Samad.
- Rep. Staed called for division and record, and Rep. Abdul-Samad seconded it.
- Amendment .366 failed with a vote of 7 Yeas (Representatives Abdul-Samad, Amos Jr., Cooling, Croken, Nielsen, Staed, Wilson), 13 Nays (Representatives Latham, Golding, Bloomingdale, Determann, Deyoe, Dunwell, Gehlbach, Gustafson, Henderson, Nordman, Osmundson, Rinker, Stoltenberg) and 1 excused - Rep. Gaines.
- Chair Latham recognized Rep. Gehlbach for closing comments on HF 196.
- Rep. Gehlbach moved HF 196.
- HF 196 passed to the floor with a vote of 12 Yeas (Representatives Latham, Golding, Bloomingdale, Determann, Devoe, Gehlbach, Gustafson, Henderson, Nordman, Osmundson, Rinker, Stoltenberg), 7 Nays (Representatives Abdul-Samad, Amos Jr., Cooling, Croken, Nielsen, Staed, and Wilson) and 2 excused - Representatives Dunwell and Gaines.
- HF 245 Determann CH, Osmundson, Staed
 - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Determann for opening comments on HF
 - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Gehlbach for opening comments on amendment .484 to HF 245.
 - Discussion took place on amendment .484
 - The amendment .484 was moved and a short form vote was requested.
 - Amendment .484 passed unanimously.
 - Discussion took place on HF 245, as amended.
 - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Determann for closing comments on HF 245 as amended.
 - Rep. Determann moved HF 245, as amended.
 - HF 245 as amended passed to the floor with a vote of 19 Yeas, 0 Nays and 2 excused - Representatives Dunwell and Gaines

lier in Latham

and 2 excused - Representatives Dunwen and Games.
Rep. Croken asked Chair Latham to repeat the bills that had been assigned earthe meeting, then with no other business to come before the committee, Chair adjourned the meeting at 2:11 pm.
Representative Shannon Latham
Julia Campbell, Committee Secretary