*House	Comm	ittee*
--------	------	--------

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Date:	February 9, 2023	Location: RM 19
Convened:	11:50 AM	
Recessed:	11:55 AM	
Reconvened:	12:30 PM	
Adjourned:	1:10 PM	
Attendance Re	oll Call:	
Present:	Representatives Latham-CH, Golding-VC, Amos Jr., Bloomingdale, Cooling, Croken, Determann, Deyoe, Dunwell, Gaines, Gehlbach, Gustafson, Henderson, Nielsen, Nordman, Osmundson, Rinker, Staed, Stoltenberg, Wilson	
Absent:		
Excused:	Representative Abdul-Samad-RM	

Chair Latham announced at 11:00 am the Local Government committee would immediately caucus on Thursday, February 9th, 2023. At 11:53 am, the committee convened and took roll call where quorum was present with Rep. Abdul-Samad excused. Chair Latham announced the committee would recess at 11:55 am. At 12:32 pm, the Local Government committee reconvened and the minutes were approved as distributed. Chair Latham reassigned <u>HF 126</u> from Rep. Nordman, Croken and Osmundson to Rep. Nordman, Amos Jr. and Osmundson. With no other bills to assign, the committee moved into consideration of bills.

## • <u>HF 87</u>

- Chair Latham recognized Rep. Nordman for opening comments on <u>HF</u> <u>87</u>.
- Discussion took place on <u>HF 87</u>
- Chair Latham recognized Rep. Nordman for closing comments on HF 87.
- Rep. Nordman moved <u>HF 87</u>.
- <u>HF 87</u> passed to the floor with a vote of 16 Yeas, 0 Nays and 5 excused -Bloomingdale, Gaines, Rinker, Stoltenberg, and Abdul-Samad.
- <u>HSB 94</u>
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Osmundson for opening comments on <u>HSB 94</u>.
  - Discussion took place on <u>HSB 94</u>.
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Osmundson for closing comments on <u>HSB 94</u>.
  - Rep. Osmundson moved <u>HSB 94</u>.
  - <u>HSB 94</u> passed to the floor with a vote of 17 Yeas, 0 Nays and 4 excused - Bloomingdale, Rinker, Stoltenberg, and Abdul-Samad. .
- <u>HSB 97</u>
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Deyoe for opening comments on <u>HSB 97</u>. There is an amendment.
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Croken for opening comments on amendment .322 to <u>HSB 97</u>.
  - Discussion took place.
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Croken for closing comments on amendment .322 to <u>HSB 97</u>.

- The amendment .322 was moved and a record roll call vote was requested.
  - The amendment failed with a vote of 7 Yeas (Rep. Amos Jr., Rep. Cooling, Rep. Croken, Rep. Gaines, Rep. Nielsen, Rep. Staed and Rep. Wilson) 11 Nays (Rep. Latham, Rep. Golding, Rep. Bloomingdale, Rep. Determann, Rep. Deyoe, Rep. Dunwell, Rep. Gehlbach, Rep. Gustafson, Rep. Henderson, Rep. Nordman, Rep. Osmundson) and 3 excused Rinker, Stoltenberg, and Abdul-Samad.
- Discussion took place on <u>HSB 97</u>.
- Chair Latham recognized Rep. Deyoe for closing comments on <u>HSB 97</u>.
- Rep. Deyoe moved <u>HSB 97</u>.
- <u>HSB 97</u> passed to the floor with a vote of 11 Yeas (Rep. Latham, Rep. Golding, Rep. Bloomingdale, Rep. Determann, Rep. Deyoe, Rep. Dunwell, Rep. Gehlbach, Rep. Gustafson, Rep. Henderson, Rep. Nordman, Rep. Osmundson), 7 Nays (Rep. Amos Jr., Rep. Cooling, Rep. Croken, Rep. Gaines, Rep. Nielsen, Rep. Staed and Rep. Wilson) and 3 excused Rinker, Stoltenberg, and Abdul-Samad.
- <u>HSB 95</u>
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Bloomingdale for opening comments on <u>HSB 95</u>.
  - Discussion took place on <u>HSB 95</u>.
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Bloomingdale for closing comments on <u>HSB 95</u>.
  - Rep. Bloomingdale moved <u>HSB 95</u>.
  - <u>HSB 95</u> passes to the floor with a vote of 16 Yeas, 2 Nays (Rep. Cooling and Rep. Croken) and 3 excused- Rinker, Stoltenberg, and Abdul-Samad.
- <u>HF 115</u>
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Dunwell for opening comments on <u>HF</u> <u>115</u>.
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Dunwell for opening comments on amendment .267 (2) to <u>HF 115</u>.
  - Discussion on amendment .267 (2) took place.
  - Rep. Dunwell moved the amendment .267 (2) short form and the amendment was adopted.
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Dunwell for closing comments on <u>HF 115</u> as amended.
  - Rep. Dunwell moved <u>HF 115</u> as amended.
  - <u>HF 115</u> as amended passes to the floor with a vote of 18 Yeas, 0 Nays and 3 excused Rinker, Stoltenberg, and Abdul-Samad.
- <u>HF 116</u>
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Deyoe for opening comments on <u>HF 116</u>.
  - Discussion took place on <u>HF 116</u>.
  - Chair Latham recognized Rep. Devoe for closing comments on <u>HF 116</u>.
  - Rep. Deyoe moved <u>HF 116</u>.
  - <u>HF 116</u> passes to the floor with a vote of 12 Yeas, 6 Nays (Rep. Amos Jr., Rep. Cooling, Rep. Gaines, Rep. Nielsen, Rep. Staed, and Rep. Wilson) and 3 excused Rinker, Stoltenberg, and Abdul-Samad.

With no other business to come before the committee, Chair Latham adjourned the meeting at 1:09 pm.

Julia Campbell, Committee Secretary