COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: January 24, 2023

Location: RM 102, Sup. Ct. Consult

Convened: 2:30 PM

Adjourned: 3:55 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Wheeler-CH, Johnson-VC, Steckman-RM, Boden, Bradley, Buck, Cahill, Collins, Ehlert, Fry, Gehlbach, Gustoff, Holt, Hora, Ingels, Kurth, Madison, Matson, Moore, T., Osmundson, Sorensen, Staed, Stone

Absent:

Excused:

Chairman Wheeler called the meeting to order at 2:30 p.m.

Roll call was taken with 23 members present.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairman Wheeler read the assignment of bills.

HSB 47 - Fry(CH), Collins, Cahill

HSB 48 - Bradley(CH), Hora, Matson

HF 15 - Wheeler(CH), Fry, Steckman

HF 16 - Ingels(CH), Osmundson, Buck

HF 17 - Boden(CH), Bradley, Cahill

HF 39 – Bradley(CH), T.Moore, Madison

HF 40 - Fry(CH), Holt, Madison

<u>HF 41</u> – Collins(CH), Johnson, Staed

HF 48 – Holt(CH), Bradley, Kurth

HSB 58 – Fry(CH), Sorensen, Steckman

Chairman Wheeler announced Republicans would caucus immediately and

Democrats went to caucus as well at 2:05 p.m.

Chairman Wheeler reconvened at 3:30 p.m.

Chairman Wheeler recognized Representative Holt for opening comments for <u>HF 11</u>. There was discussion. Rep Holt was recognized for closing remarks and moved <u>HF 11</u>. Chairman Wheeler moved <u>HF 11</u> as a committee bill on a roll call vote of 15 yeas (Representatives Wheeler, Johnson, Boden, Bradley, Collins, Fry, Gehlbach, Gustoff,

Holt, Hora, Ingels, Moore, T., Osmundson, Sorensen, Stone) and 8 nays

(Representatives Steckman, Buck, Cahill, Ehlert, Kurth, Madison, Matson, Staed). Chairman Wheeler recognized Representative Holt for opening comments for <u>HF 12</u>. There was discussion. Chairman Wheeler recognized Representative Holt for closing comments and moved <u>HF 12</u>. Chairman Wheeler moved <u>HF 12</u> as a committee bill on a roll call of 14 yeas (Representatives Wheeler, Johnson, Boden, Bradley, Collins, Fry, Gehlbach, Gustoff, Holt, Hora, Osmundson, Sorensen, Staed, Stone) and 9 Nays (Representatives Steckman, Buck, Cahill, Ehlert, Ingels, Kurth, Madison, Matson, Moore, T.).

Chairman Wheeler recognized Representative Collins for opening comments on <u>HF</u> <u>41</u>. There was discussion. Chairman Wheeler recognized Representative Collins for closing comments and moved <u>HF 41</u>. Chairman Wheeler moved <u>HF 41</u> as a committee bill on a roll call of 19 yeas (Representatives Wheeler, Johnson, Steckman, Boden, Bradley, Buck, Cahill, Collins, Ehlert, Fry, Gehlbach, Gustoff, Holt, Hora, Matson, Osmundson, Sorensen, Staed, Stone) and 4 nays (Representatives Ingels, Kurth, Madison, Moore, T.)

With no further business to come before the committee, Chairman Wheeler motioned to adjourn, seconded by Gehlbach. The meeting was adjourned at 3:54 p.m.

Representative Skyler Wheeler

Jamie Spangler, Committee Secretary