COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: March 24, 2022 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: 10:05 AM

Adjourned: 10:40 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Mohr, G.-CH, Latham-VC, Oldson-RM, Bergan,

Bossman, Brink, Brown-Powers, Deyoe, Ehlert, Forbes, Fry, Hall, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Mommsen, Prichard, Running-Marquardt,

Sorensen, Thede, Thompson, Williams, Wills, Worthan

Absent:

Excused: Representative Meyer, B.

Both parties went to caucus at 9:00 AM.

Both parties returned at 10:05 AM.

Chairman Mohr called the House Appropriations Committee to order at 10:05 AM. Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairman Mohr assigned the following bills to subcommittees:

LSB 5004 – FY 2023 Health and Human Services Appropriations (Fry-CH) Next, Representative Latham was recognized to take up HF 750. Representative Latham was recognized for opening comments on HF 750. Representative Latham gave opening comments and indicated there was an amendment HF 750.4038 (Amendment 4038). Representative Latham was recognized for opening comments on Amendment 4038. Representative Latham gave opening comments on Amendment 4038 and there was discussion. Representative Latham was recognized for closing comments on Amendment 4038 and moved Amendment 4038 short form. Amendment 4038 passed on a voice vote.

Representative Latham was recognized for opening comments on <u>HF 750</u>, as amended. Representative Latham gave opening comments on <u>HF 750</u>, as amended, and there was discussion. Representative Latham was recognized for closing comments on <u>HF 750</u>, as amended. Representative Latham gave closing comments and moved <u>HF 750</u>, as amended.

Chairman Mohr called for the vote and moved <u>HF 750</u>, as amended, forward as a committee bill on a vote of twenty-four (24) yeas (Mohr, Latham, Oldson, Bergan, Bossman, Brink, Brown-Powers, Deyoe, Ehlert, Forbes, Fry, Hall, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Mommsen, Prichard, Running-Marquardt, Sorensen, Thede, Thompson, Williams, Wills, Worthan), zero (0) nays, and one (1) excused (Meyer, B.).

Next, Representative Fry was recognized to take up <u>HF 2323</u>. Representative Fry was recognized for opening comments on <u>HF 2323</u>. Representative Fry gave opening comments and indicated there was an amendment <u>HF 2323</u>.4004 (Amendment 4004). Representative Fry was recognized for opening comments on Amendment 4004. Representative Fry gave opening comments on Amendment 4004 and there was discussion. Representative Fry was recognized for closing comments on Amendment 4004 and moved Amendment 4004 short form. Amendment 4004 passed on a voice vote.

Representative Fry was recognized for opening comments on HF 2323, as amended. Representative Fry gave opening comments on HF 2323, as amended, and there was discussion. Representative Fry was recognized for closing comments on HF 2323, as amended. Representative Fry gave closing comments and moved HF 2323, as amended.

Chairman Mohr called for the vote and moved <u>HF 2323</u>, as amended, forward as a committee bill on a vote of twenty-four (24) yeas (Mohr, Latham, Oldson, Bergan, Bossman, Brink, Brown-Powers, Deyoe, Ehlert, Forbes, Fry, Hall, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Mommsen, Prichard, Running-Marquardt, Sorensen, Thede, Thompson, Williams, Wills, Worthan), zero (0) nays, and one (1) excused (Meyer, B.).

Next, Representative Thompson was recognized to take up <u>HF 2499</u>. Representative Thompson was recognized for opening comments on <u>HF 2499</u>. Representative Thompson gave opening comments and indicated there was an amendment <u>HF 2499</u>.4040 (Amendment 4040). Representative Thompson was recognized for opening comments on Amendment 4040. Representative Thompson gave opening comments on Amendment 4040 and there was discussion. Representative Thompson was recognized for closing comments on Amendment 4040 and moved Amendment 4040 short form. Amendment 4040 passed on a voice vote.

Representative Thompson was recognized for opening comments on <u>HF 2499</u>, as amended. Representative Thompson gave opening comments on <u>HF 2499</u>, as amended, and there was discussion. Representative Thompson was recognized for closing comments on <u>HF 2499</u>, as amended. Representative Thompson gave closing comments and moved <u>HF 2499</u>, as amended.

Chairman Mohr called for the vote and moved HF 2499, as amended, forward as a committee bill on a vote of fourteen (14) yeas (Mohr, Latham, Bossman, Brink, Deyoe, Fry, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Mommsen, Sorensen, Thompson, Wills, Worthan), ten (10) nays (Oldson, Bergan, Brown-Powers, Ehlert, Forbes, Hall, Prichard, Running-Marquardt, Thede, Williams) and one (1) excused (Meyer, B.).

Next, Representative Kerr was recognized to take up LSB 5003 – FY 2023 Education Appropriations. Representative Kerr was recognized for opening comments on LSB 5003 – FY 2023 Education Appropriations. Representative Kerr gave opening comments on LSB 5003 – FY 2023 Education Appropriations and there was discussion. Representative Kerr was recognized for closing comments on LSB 5003 – FY 2023 Education Appropriations. Representative Kerr gave closing comments and moved LSB 5003 – FY 2023 Education Appropriations.

Chairman Mohr called for the vote and moved LSB 5003 – FY 2023 Education Appropriations forward as a committee bill on a vote fifteen (15) yeas (Mohr, Latham, Bergan, Bossman, Brink, Deyoe, Fry, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Mommsen, Sorensen, Thompson, Wills, Worthan), nine (9) nays (Oldson, Brown-Powers, Ehlert, Forbes, Hall, Prichard, Running-Marquardt, Thede, Williams) and one (1) excused (Meyer, B.).

Chairman Mohr announced a correction in the vote totals for <u>HF 2499</u>, as amended. Chairman Mohr announced <u>HF 2499</u>, as amended, received fourteen (14) yeas and ten (10) nays. The vote had initially been announced as fourteen (14) yeas and nine (9) nays earlier in the meeting.

With no further business to come before the House Appropriations Committee, Representative Worthan moved to adjourn the meeting at 10:40 AM.

| Representative Gary M. Mohr | |
|----------------------------------|--|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| Henry Widen, Committee Secretary | |