House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date: March 16, 2022 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *11:00 AM*

Recessed: 11:05 AM

Reconvened: 11:45 AM

Adjourned: 12:55 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Kaufmann-CH, Boden-VC, Mascher-RM, Bacon,

Bloomingdale, Bossman, Cohoon, Donahue, Gjerde, Hunter, Jacobsen, Jones, Kurth, Lundgren, Meyer, A., Mitchell, Moore, T., Nielsen,

Nordman, Sexton, Siegrist, Winckler, Wolfe

Absent:

Excused:

At 11:00 am On March 16th Chairman Kaufmann announced both parties would immediately caucus. The State Government committee reconvened at 11:45 am and Chairman Kaufmann called the meeting to order. The minutes of the previous meeting were approved and the clerk took roll call. There was a quorum present with no absences.

Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative Sexton for opening comments on <u>SF</u> 2324. Representative Sexton gave his opening remarks and announced amendment 3699. Chair Kaufmann opened discussion on amendment 3699. There was discussion. Representative Sexton moved amendment 3699 short form, the amendment passed. With no discussion to be had on <u>SF 2324</u> as amended, Representative Sexton moved the bill as amended. The clerk called roll. With 23 yeas and 0 nays, <u>SF 2324</u> as amended moved to the floor as a committee bill.

Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative A. Meyer for opening comments on <u>SF</u> <u>2260</u>. Chair Kaufmann opened up committee for discussion on <u>SF</u> <u>2260</u>. There was discussion. Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative A. Meyer for closing comments and moved <u>SF</u> <u>2260</u>. Chair Kaufmann moved the bill and asked the clerk to called roll. With 23 Yeas and 0 Nays <u>SF</u> <u>2260</u> moved to the floor as a committee bill.

Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative Sexton for opening comments on <u>SF</u> <u>2263</u>. Representative Sexton announced there were amendments. Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative Sexton for opening comments on amendment 3802. There was discussion. Representative Sexton moved amendment 3802. A record vote was requested and the clerk called roll. With 14 Yeas (Representatives: Kaufmann, Boden, Bacon, Bloomingdale, Bossman, Jacobsen, Jones, Lundgren, Meyer, Mitchell, Moore, T., Nordman, Sexton, Siegrist) and 9 Nays (Representatives: Mascher, Cohoon, Donahue, Gjerde, Hunter, Kurth, Nielsen, Winckler, Wolfe) the amendment passed.

Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative Wolfe for opening comments on amendment 3824. Representative Wolfe withdrew amendment 3824 with unanimous consent. Chair Kaufmann opened the committee for discussion on SF 2263 as amended. There was discussion. Representative Sexton moved SF 2263 as amended. Chair Kaufmann moved the bill and asked the clerk to call roll. With 14 Yeas (Representatives: Kaufmann, Boden, Bacon, Bloomingdale, Bossman, Jacobsen, Jones, Lundgren, Meyer, A., Mitchell, Moore, T., Nordman, Sexton, Siegrist) and 9

Nays (Representatives: Mascher, Cohoon, Donahue, Gjerde, Hunter, Kurth, Nielsen, Winckler, Wolfe) the bill passed and moved to the floor as a committee bill. Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative Mitchell for opening remarks on <u>SF 2196</u>. Chairman Kaufmann opened up the committee for discussion on <u>SF 2196</u>. There was discussion. Chairman Kaufmann recognized Representative Mitchell for closing comments on <u>SF 2196</u>. Representative Mitchell moved <u>SF 2196</u>. The clerk called the roll, with 23 Yeas and 0 Nays, <u>SF 2196</u> moved to the floor as a committee bill.

Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative Bloomingdale for opening comments on SF 487. Representative Bloomingdale announced there was an amendment. Representative Bloomingdale was recognized for opening comments on amendment 3834. There was discussion. Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative Bloomingdale for closing comments on amendment 3834. Representative Bloomingdale moved the amendment. The amendment passed short form. Representative Bloomingdale was recognized by Chair Kaufmann for opening comments on amendment 3850. There was discussion. Chair Kaufmann recognized Representative Bloomingdale for closing comments on amendment 3850 and moved the amendment short form. Amendment 3850 passed. Chair Kaufmann opened up discussion on SF 487 as amended. There was discussion. Representative Bloomingdale moved <u>SF 487</u> as amended, and the clerk called roll. With 14 Yeas (Representatives: Kaufmann, Boden, Bacon, Bloomingdale, Bossman, Jacobsen, Jones, Lundgren, Meyer, A., Mitchell, Moore, T., Nordman, Sexton, Siegrist) and 9 nays (Representatives: Mascher, Cohoon, Donahue, Gjerde, Hunter, Kurth, Nielsen, Winckler, Wolfe) SF 487 passed as amended and moved to the floor as a committee

Chair Kaufmann transferred the gavel to Vice Chair Boden. Chair Boden asked for unanimous consent to move from committee to committee as a whole in order to consider SF 2022. Unanimous consent was given. Representative Kaufmann introduced SF 2022. There was discussion along with public comments. Representative Kaufmann moved SF 2022 and Chair Boden moved SF 2022 short form which passed unanimously. Chair Boden then asked for unanimous consent to dissolve the committee as a whole and return to Committee. Unanimous consent was provided.

Chair Boden recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on SF 2022. Representative Kaufmann gave opening remarks and announced there was an amendment. Chair Boden recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening comments on amendment 3842. There was discussion. Representative Kaufmann moved amendment 3842. A record vote was requested. The clerk called roll. With 12 Ayes (Representatives: Kaufmann, Boden, Bacon, Bloomingdale, Bossman, Jacobsen, Lundgren, Meyer, A., Moore, T., Nordman, Sexton, Siegrist) 10 Nays (Representatives: Mascher, Cohoon, Donahue, Gjerde, Hunter, Kurth, Mitchell, Nielsen, Winckler, Wolfe) and one R-76 (Representative Jones) amendment 3842 passed. Chair Boden then opens discussion on SF 2022, as amended. With no discussion to be had, Chair Boden recognized Representative Kaufmann for closing comments on SF 2022 as amended. Representative Kaufmann moved the bill. Chair Boden moved the bill and asked the clerk to call roll. With 12 yeas (Representatives: Kaufmann, Boden, Bacon, Bloomingdale, Bossman, Jacobsen, Lundgren, Meyer, A., Moore, T., Nordman, Sexton, Siegrist) 10 Nays (Representatives: Mascher, Cohoon, Donahue, Gjerde, Hunter, Kurth, Mitchell, Nielsen, Winckler, Wolfe) and 1 R-76 (Representative Jones) SF 2022 as amended moved to the floor as a committee bill. Chair Boden transferred the gavel back to Representative Kaufmann. With no other business to come before the committee, Representative Mascher moved to arise at 12:55pm

Mitchel Ireland, Committee Secretary