\*House Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: *March 15, 2022* 

Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: 10:40 AM

Adjourned: 11:20 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Mohr, G.-CH, Latham-VC, Bergan, Bossman, Brink, Brown-Powers, Deyoe, Ehlert, Fry, Hall, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Mommsen, Sorensen, Thede, Thompson, Williams, Wills, Worthan

Absent:

Excused: Representatives Oldson-RM, Forbes, Prichard, Running-Marquardt

Both parties went to caucus at 10:00 AM.

Both parties returned at 10:40 AM.

Chairman Mohr called the House Appropriations Committee to order at 10:45 AM.

Roll call was taken and a quorum was present.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

Chairman Mohr moved that Representative Cohoon be permitted to speak on LSB 5007 – Transportation Appropriations when it came up for consideration. The motion passed on a voice vote.

Chairman Mohr assigned the following bills to subcommittees:

LSB 5000 – Administration and Regulation Appropriations (Bergan-CH)

LSB 5002 – Economic Development Appropriations (Thompson-CH)

SF 2290 – Thompson (CH), Mommsen, Thede

Next, Representative Mommsen was recognized to take up LSB 5001 – Ag & Natural Resources Appropriations. Representative Mommsen was recognized for opening comments on LSB 5001 – Ag & Natural Resources

Appropriations. Representative Mommsen gave opening comments on LSB 5001 – Ag & Natural Resources Appropriations and there was discussion. Representative Mommsen was recognized for closing comments on LSB 5001 – Ag & Natural Resources Appropriations. Representative Mommsen gave closing comments and moved LSB 5001 – Ag & Natural Resources Appropriations.

Chairman Mohr called for the vote and moved LSB 5001 – Ag & Natural Resources Appropriations forward as a committee bill on a vote of fifteen (15) yeas (Mohr, Latham, Bergan, Bossman, Brink, Deyoe, Fry, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Mommsen, Sorensen, Thompson, Wills, Worthan), six (6) nays (Brown-Powers, Ehlert, Hall, Meyer, B., Thede, Williams) and four (4) excused (Oldson, Forbes, Prichard, Running-Marquardt).

Next, Representative Worthan was recognized to take up LSB 5006 – Judicial Branch Appropriations. Representative Worthan was recognized for opening comments on LSB 5006 – Judicial Branch Appropriations. Representative Worthan gave opening comments on LSB 5006 – Judicial Branch Appropriations and there was discussion. Representative Worthan was recognized for closing comments on LSB 5006 – Judicial Branch Appropriations. Representative Worthan was recognized for closing comments on LSB 5006 – Judicial Branch Appropriations. Representative Worthan was recognized for closing comments on LSB 5006 – Judicial Branch Appropriations. Representative Worthan gave closing comments and moved LSB 5006 – Judicial Branch Appropriations.

Chairman Mohr called for the vote and moved LSB 5006 – Judicial Branch Appropriations forward as a committee bill on a vote of twenty-one (21) yeas (Mohr, Latham, Bergan, Bossman, Brink, Brown-Powers, Deyoe, Ehlert, Fry, Hall, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Mommsen, Sorensen, Thede, Thompson, Williams, Wills, Worthan), zero (0) nays, and four (4) excused (Oldson, Forbes, Prichard, Running-Marquardt).

Next, Representative Worthan was recognized to take up LSB 5005 – Justice Systems Appropriations. Representative Worthan was recognized for opening comments on LSB 5005 – Justice Systems Appropriations. Representative Worthan gave opening comments on LSB 5005 – Justice Systems Appropriations and there was discussion. Representative Worthan was recognized for closing comments on LSB 5005 – Justice Systems Appropriations. Representative Worthan gave closing comments on LSB 5005 – Justice Systems Appropriations. Representative Worthan gave closing comments and moved LSB 5005 – Justice Systems Appropriations.

Chairman Mohr called for the vote and moved LSB 5005 – Justice Systems Appropriations forward as a committee bill on a vote of fifteen (15) yeas (Mohr, Latham, Bergan, Bossman, Brink, Deyoe, Fry, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Mommsen, Sorensen, Thompson, Wills, Worthan), six (6) nays (Brown-Powers, Ehlert, Hall, Meyer, B., Thede, Williams) and four (4) excused (Oldson, Forbes, Prichard, Running-Marquardt).

Next, Representative Bossman was recognized to take up LSB 5007 – Transportation Appropriations. Representative Bossman was recognized for opening comments on LSB 5007 – Transportation Appropriations. Representative Bossman gave opening comments on LSB 5007 – Transportation Appropriations and there was discussion. Representative Bossman was recognized for closing comments on LSB 5007 – Transportation Appropriations. Representative Bossman gave closing comments and moved LSB 5007 – Transportation Appropriations. Chairman Mohr called for the vote and moved LSB 5007 – Transportation Appropriations forward as a committee bill on a vote of twenty-one (21) yeas

(Mohr, Latham, Bergan, Bossman, Brink, Brown-Powers, Deyoe, Ehlert, Fry, Hall, Holt, Kerr, Meyer, A., Meyer, B., Mommsen, Sorensen, Thede, Thompson, Williams, Wills, Worthan), zero (0) nays, and four (4) excused (Oldson, Forbes, Prichard, Running-Marquardt).

With no further business to come before the House Appropriations Committee, Representative Meyer, B. moved to adjourn the meeting at 11:20 AM.

Representative Gary M. Mohr

Henry Widen, Committee Secretary