

MINUTES Legislative Council Thursday, February 10, 2022

LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY Serving the Iowa Legislature

## **MEMBERS PRESENT**

Senator Jack Whitver, Chairperson Senator Joe Bolkcom Senator Jake Chapman Senator Chris Cournoyer Senator Pam Jochum Senator Carrie Koelker Senator Jim Lykam Senator Amanda Ragan Senator Zach Wahls Senator Brad Zaun Representative Pat Grassley, Vice Chairperson Representative Jane Bloomingdale Representative Dave Deyoe Representative Eric Gjerde Representative Lee Hein Representative Lindsay James Representative Jennifer Konfrst Representative Charlie McConkey Representative Jo Oldson Representative John H. Wills Representative Matt W. Windschitl

LSA CONTACTS: Organizational staffing provided by: Timothy McDermott, Interim Secretary to the Legislative Council and Legal Services Division Director, 515.281.8090; Minutes prepared by: Rachele Hjelmaas, Legal Editor, 515.281.8127

## CONTENTS

- I. Procedural Business
- II. Appointment of Ombudsman



## I. Procedural Business

**Call to Order.** The third meeting of the 2021-2022 Legislative Council was called to order by Chairperson Whitver at 12:04 p.m. on Thursday, February 10, 2022, in Room 22, State Capitol, Des Moines, Iowa.

**Minutes of Prior Meeting.** Vice Chairperson Grassley moved that the minutes of the Legislative Council meeting of July 14, 2021, be approved without additions or corrections. The motion was approved by a voice vote.

Adjournment. The meeting was adjourned at 12:09 p.m.

## II. Appointment of Ombudsman

Chairperson Whitver moved that Bernardo Granwehr be appointed the Ombusdman for a four-year term beginning July 1, 2022, and that he serve as the Acting Ombudsman from February 18 until that time. The motion was seconded and approved by a voice vote.