## COMMITTEE MINUTES for PUBLIC SAFETY

Date: February 16, 2022 Location: RM 19

Convened: 1:00 PM

Recessed: 1:05 PM

Reconvened: 1:30 PM

Adjourned: 1:55 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Westrich-VC, Kressig-RM, Abdul-Samad, Anderson,

Andrews, Fisher, Fry, Gaines, Gobble, Holt, Jeneary, Kerr, Olson, Paustian, Salmon, Steckman, Sunde, Wessel-Kroeschell, Worthan

Absent:

Excused: Representatives Klein-CH, Thorup

On Wednesday, February 16th 2022 at 1:00 Chairman Klein called the Public Safety committee meeting to order and immediately recessed.

The clerk held the roll call

Vice Chairwoman Westrich reconvened the meeting at 1:35

Without corrections or objections, Vice Chairwoman Westrich approved the previous minutes.

Rep. Gobble opened discussion on <u>HF 2304</u> and introduced amendment 2304.3161 Vice Chairwoman Westrich called for a short form vote on amendment 2304.3161 Amendment 2304.3161 was adopted

Rep. Gobble moved for a vote on HF 2304 as amended

With 19 Yea votes, 0 Nays, and 2 excused votes <u>HF 2304</u> will move forward as a committee bill.

Yeas: Reps. Westrich, Kressig, Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Andrews, Fisher, Fry, Gaines, Gobble, Holt, Jeneary, Kerr, Olson, Paustian, Salmon, Steckman, Sunde, Wessel-Kroeschell, Worthan

Navs:

Excused: Rep. Klein, Thorup

Rep. Holt opened discussion on <u>HSB 646</u> and introduced amendment 646.2428 Vice Chairwoman Westrich called for a short form vote on amendment 646.2428 Amendment 646.2428 was adopted

Rep. Klein moved for a vote on HSB 646 as amended

With 11 Yea votes, 8 Nay, and 2 excused votes <u>HSB 646</u> will move forward as a committee bill.

Yeas: Reps. Westrich, Kressig, Abdul-Samad Anderson, Andrews, Fisher, Fry, Gaines, Gobble, Holt, Jeneary, Kerr, Olson, Paustian, Salmon, Steckman, Sunde, Wessel-Kroeschell, Worthan

Nays: Kressig, Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Gaines, Olson, Steckman, Sunde, Wessel-Kroeschell

Excused: Reps. Klein, Thorup

Rep. Andrews opened discussion on HSB 707

Rep. Andrews moved for a vote on HSB 707

With 19 Yea votes, 0 Nays, and 2 excused votes <u>HSB 707</u> will move forward as a committee bill.

Yeas: Reps. Westrich, Kressig, Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Andrews, Fisher, Fry, Gaines, Gobble, Holt, Jeneary, Kerr, Olson, Paustian, Salmon, Steckman, Sunde, Wessel-Kroeschell, Worthan

Nays: Excused: Reps. Klein, Thorup Chairman Klein gave the Chair to Vice Chairwoman Westrich Rep. Andrews opened discussion on HSB 701 and introduced amendment 701.3151 Vice Chairwoman Westrich called for a short form vote on amendment 701.3151 Amendment 701.3151 was adopted Rep. Andrews moved for a vote on HSB 701 as amended With 14 Yea votes, 5 Nays, 2 excused votes HSB 701 will move forward as a committee bill. Yeas: Reps. Westrich, Kressig, Anderson, Andrews, Fisher, Fry, Gaines, Gobble, Holt, Jeneary, Kerr, Olson, Paustian, Salmon, Worthan Nays: Abdul-Samad, Gaines, Steckman, Sunde, Wessel-Kroeschell Excused: Reps. Klein, Thorup Without further business Rep. Paustian moved to rise Vice Chairwoman Westrich adjourned the meeting at 2:00 Representative Jarad J. Klein

William Webb, Committee Secretary