\*House Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for VETERANS AFFAIRS

Date: February 13, 2020 Location: RM 19

Convened: *11:05 AM* 

Adjourned: 11:10 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Salmon-CH, Gustafson-VC, Kurth-RM, Bennett, Breckenridge,

Brown-Powers, Hagenow, Hite, Jeneary, Kacena, Ourth, Smith, M., Sorensen,

Thompson, Wheeler, Wills

Absent:

Excused: Representative Gaines

Chairperson Salmon called the meeting to order at 11:05 A.M.

Roll call was taken. Representatives Gaines and Representative Hite were excused until they arrive.

The minutes were approved.

The following bills were assigned to subcommittee: HSB 682

Chairperson Salmon recognized Representative Sorensen for opening remarks on <u>HSB 597</u> A bill for an act relating to the approval procedures for claims for the military service property tax exemption and including applicability provisions. Representative Bennett offered her support of the bill and encouraged her party to support it. With no further discussion, Chairperson Salmon recognized Rep. Sorensen for closing remarks on <u>HSB 597</u>. Rep. Sorensen moved the bill. The bill was moved and passed by a vote of 15 Aye, 0 Nay, and 2 Absent. Representative Hite was absent for the vote. The bill will move to the House floor as a Veterans Affairs Committee bill.

Chairperson Salmon recognized Representative Wheeler for opening remarks on <u>HSB 637</u> A bill for an act relating to eligibility for a property tax exemption for certain property of veterans associations. Representative Kacena asked for clarification on the bill. Rep. Salmon explained the purpose of the bill. Representative Kurth encouraged her colleagues to support the bill. With no further discussion, Chairperson Salmon recognized Rep. Wheeler for closing remarks on <u>HSB 637</u>. Rep. Wheeler moved the bill.

The bill was moved and passed by a vote of 16 Aye, 0 Nay, and 1 Absent. The bill will move to the House floor as a Veterans Affairs Committee bill.

As there was no further business to come before the committee, Representative Kacena moved to adjourn at 11:10 A.M.

o adjourn at 11.10 A.wi.	
Representative Sandy Salmon	
representative Sandy Sannon	
Susan R. Foster, Committee Secretary	<del>y</del>