## COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: February 12, 2020 Location: RM 22

Convened: *3:00 PM* 

Adjourned: 4:05 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Zaun-CH, Garrett-VC, Kinney-RM, Bisignano, Chapman, Dawson,

Hogg, Nunn, Petersen, Schultz, Shipley, Sinclair, Sweeney, Taylor, R., Whiting

Absent:

Excused:

Chairman Zaun called the meeting to order at 3:00 p.m.

Roll call was taken silently. A quorum was present. Committee members absent were excused until their arrival.

The minutes from February 10, 2020, were approved.

At 3:05 p.m., the Republican senators went to caucus, and the Democrat senators went to caucus.

Senator Zaun called the meeting back to order at 3:30 p.m.

Senator Sinclair was recognized for <u>SSB 3040</u>. Senator Sinclair was recognized for amendment <u>SSB 3040</u>.2767. Discussion followed. The amendment passed unanimously on short form vote. The bill as amended passed unanimously on short form vote.

Senator Nunn was recognized for <u>SF 2703</u>. Discussion followed. The bill passed 10 yea 5 nay on roll call vote.

Senator Chapman was recognized for <u>SSB 3035</u>, which had been amended and deferred at the previous meeting. Discussion followed. The bill as amended passed on short form 13 yea to 2 nay, with Senator Hogg and Senator Bisignano voting nay.

Senator Garrett was recognized for <u>SF 2179</u>. Senator Garrett was recognized for amendment <u>SF 2179</u>.2853. The amendment passed unanimously on short form vote. The bill as amended passed unanimously on short form vote.

Senator Garrett was recognized for his report on the Governor's appointment of Elizabeth Johnson to the position of Director, Iowa State Civil Rights Commission. Recommendation for confirmation, on the Individual Confirmation Calendar, of Elizabeth Johnson to the position of Director, Iowa State Civil Rights Commission, passed unanimously on short form vote. Senator Garrett was recognized for his report on the Governor's appointment of Helen Miller to the position of Chairperson, Board of Parole. Recommendation for confirmation, on the Individual Confirmation Calendar, of Helen Miller to the position of Chairperson, Board of Parole, passed unanimously on short form vote.

Senator Zaun turned the meeting over to Vice Chairman Garrett. Senator Zaun was recognized for his report on the Governor's appointment of Beth Skinner to the position of Director, Iowa Department of Corrections. Recommendation for confirmation, on the Individual Confirmation Calendar, of Beth Skinner to the position of Director, Iowa Department of Corrections, passed unanimously on short form vote. Senator Garrett turned the meeting back over to Senator Zaun. Senator Hogg requested that Governor Appointee Dan Huitink be moved from the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar to the Individual Confirmation Calendar. Senator Garrett was recognized for his report on the Governor's appointment of Dan Huitink to the position of State Judicial Nominating Commission. Recommendation for confirmation, on the Individual Confirmation

Calendar, of Dan Huitink to the position of State Judicial Nominating Commission passed on
short form vote 12 yea to 3 nay, with Senators Bisignano, Hogg, and Taylor voting nay.
Senator Zaun moved the recommendation of the following Governor Appointees on the En Bloc
Confirmation Calendar, after the name of Sheila Corsbie was removed: F. Jeanita McNulty to
the Commission on Judicial Qualifications; Tammy Bramley, Brian Gladney, John Haila,
Timothy Lane, Eileen Meier, Cody Samec, and Ardyth Slight to the Justice Advisory Board;
Jana Abens, Melissa Henderson, and Diana Venenga to the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy
Council; Andrew Boettger, Ralph Haskins, Helen Miller, and Sue Weinacht to the Board of
Parole; and Vincent Lewis as Alternate to the Board of Parole. Recommendation for
confirmation of the Governor Appointees on the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar passed
unanimously on short form vote.

Senator Dawson moved to adjourn. The meeting adjourned at 4:05 p.m.

Senator Brad Zaun		