COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: April 4, 2019 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *5:00 PM*

Adjourned: 5:35 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Grassley-CH, Sorensen-VC, Hall-RM, Bearinger, Bennett, Best,

Breckenridge, Brink, Deyoe, Fry, Heddens, Hinson, Kerr, Mascher, Mohr, G., Mommsen, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Sexton, Thede, Williams, Wills,

Winckler, Worthan

Absent:

Excused: Representative Landon

Chairman Grassley called the meeting to order at 5:00 P.M.

Roll call was read and there was a quorum present.

The minutes were approved from the previous meeting.

The following bills were assigned:

SF 600 – Transportation, Infrastructure, and Capitals Appropriation Budget Subcommittee HF 754 – Mommsen (Chair), Hall, and Sorensen

The chair recognized Representative Mohr for opening comments on HSB 251. (A bill for an act relating to and making appropriations to state departments and agencies from the rebuild Iowa infrastructure fund and the technology reinvestment fund, providing for related matters, and including effective date provisions.)

The chair recognized Representative Mohr for opening comments on Amendment 1549. After discussion and closing comments, Representative Mohr moved the amendment and it passed on short form.

After discussion, the chair recognized Representative Mohr for closing comments on the bill as amended. Representative Mohr moved the bill as amended and passed on the vote 24 Aye, 0 Nay, and 1 Absent. The absent member was Representatives Landon. The bill as amended will move to the House Floor as an Appropriations Committee Bill.

The chair recognized Representative Fry for opening comments on HSB 253. (A bill for an act relating to and appropriations for health and human services and veterans and including other related provisions and appropriations, providing penalties, and including effective date and retroactive and other applicability date provisions.)

After discussion, the chair recognized Representative Fry for closing comments on the bill. Representative Fry moved the bill and passed on the vote 13 Aye, 11 Nay, and 1 Absent. The nay votes were Representatives Hall, Bearinger, Bennett, Breckenridge, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquart, Thede, Williams, and Winckler. The absent member was Representatives Landon. The bill will move to the House Floor as an Appropriations Committee Bill.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Heddens moved to arise. The committee adjourned at 5:33 P.M.

Representative Pat Grassley
Dani Boal, Committee Secretary