## COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: *April 3, 2019* Location: *RM 22* 

Convened: 2:45 PM

Adjourned: 3:10 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Sinclair-CH, Cournoyer-VC, Quirmbach-RM, Behn, Celsi, Giddens,

Johnson, Kraayenbrink, Lofgren, Rozenboom, Smith, J., Sweeney, Wahls

Absent:

Excused: Senators Edler, Zaun

Meeting came to order at 2:45

Roll was taken Silently

Senators Edler and Zaun were excused at the beginning of the meeting

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved

Both parties caucused

The appointment of Mayra Martinez to The Early Childhood Iowa Board was brought before the committee

Opening remarks were made by Sen. Sweeney

Discussion: Sen. Quirmbach

Closing remarks were made by Sen. Sweeney

Short Form Vote – none opposed (13 Yeas – 0 Nays) – Without Recommendation to the individual calendar

The appointment of Nicholos Nopouos the Iowa Autism Council was brought before the committee

Opening remarks were made by Sen. Lofgren

Discussion: Sen. Celsi

Closing remarks were made by Sen. Lofgren

Short Form Vote – none opposed (13 Yeas – 0 Nays) – To the En Bloc calander

HF 637 was brought before the committee

Opening remarks were made by Sen. Cournover

Closing remarks were made by Sen. Cournoyer

Short Form Vote – none opposed (13 Yeas – 0 Nays)

HF 598 was brought before the committee

Opening remarks were made by Sen. Sinclair

Discussion: Sen. Giddens, Sen. Rozenboom, Sen. Smith, Sen. Quirmbach

Closing remarks were made by Sen. Sinclair

Short Form Vote – Sen. Giddens, Sen. Celsi, and Sen. Smith voted no (10 Yeas – 3 Nays)

Sen. Behn moved to Adjourn

Adjourned at 3:10

Senator Amy	Sinclair	

Mitchell Sinclair, Committee Secretary