\*Senate Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for NATURAL RESOURCES AND ENVIRONMENT

Date: February 14, 2019

Location: RM 22

Convened: 2:10 PM

Adjourned: 2:50 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Rozenboom-CH, Shipley-VC, Hogg-RM, Behn, Boulton, Celsi, Cournoyer, Kapucian, Lykam, Segebart, Smith, J., Sweeney, Zumbach

Absent:

Excused:

The meeting came to order at 2:07 pm.

Roll call was taken silently by the committee secretary. Senators not present are excused until their arrival.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom stated the minutes from the last meeting were distributed electronically. Chairman Senator Rozenboom asked the committee members if there are any needed changes to the minutes. Seeing none, the minutes from the previous meeting were approved as distributed.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom announced bills for consideration: <u>SF 86</u>, <u>SSB 1121</u>, <u>SSB 1122</u>, <u>SF 215</u>

Chairman Senator Rozenboom welcomed the guest presenting to the committee. Ms. Lori Beary was introduced to the committee as Community Development Director for Iowa Finance Authority (IFA).

Ms. Beary presented on the efforts involved in <u>SF 512</u> and <u>HF 2440</u> and the subsequent two programs administered by IFA: 1)Wastewater and Drinking Water Treatment Financial Assistance Program, and 2) Water Quality Financing Program, a revolving loan fund. Ms. Beary further explained the priorities for these grant funds and how IFA works in cooperation with DNR and IDALS.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom thanked presenter, Lori Beary, and opened the floor to discussion and questions.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom recognized Senator Sweeney who asked if IFA worked with USDA Rural Development. The presenter responded. Senator Sweeney then asked what percentage of interest and how long the loan will be. The presenter responded. Senator Sweeney asked about the particular criteria for cities and townships to apply. The presenter responded. Chairman Senator Rozenboom recognized Senator Segebart who remembered a flood event he experienced in Crawford County. Senator Segebart asked the size of the water sheds and if the Corps of Engineers is involved along with rural development. The presenter responded. Chairman Senator Rozenboom recognized Senator Zumbach who asked if unincorporated townships are in a position to ask for these funds and how the funds are allocated between the two requesting townships. The presenter responded.

Seeing no further discussion, Chairman Senator Rozenboom thanked the presenter, Lori Beary, for coming and sharing information with the committee. Chairman Senator Rozenboom brought extra attention to the last slide in respect to the sunset of <u>SF 512</u>, which is until a sales tax increase occurs or July 1, 2029.

Republicans and Democrats briefly caucused.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom recognized Senator Brown who introduced the Luft family of

Charles City who were present during the meeting. Their son, Logan Luft, tragically passed away in an ATV accident in 2017. Senator Brown recognized their organ donation advocacy work and the connection to  $\underline{SF 86}$ .

Chairman Senator Rozenboom turned the Chair over to Vice Chair Senator Shipley.

Vice Chair Senator Shipley recognized Chairman Senator Rozenboom for SF 86.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom introduced <u>SF 86</u>, provided the subcommittee report, and gave opening comments on the bill.

Vice Chair Senator Shipley opened the floor to discussion.

Vice Chair Senator Shipley recognized Senator Boulton.

Senator Boulton thanked Senator Brown and the Luft family, noting the positivity of this bill. Seeing no further discussion, Chairman Senator Rozenboom gave closing comments and how this bill honors the life of Logan Luft and moved <u>SF 86</u>.

Ranking Member Senator Hogg requested a short form voice vote. <u>SF 86</u> passed unanimously on a short form voice vote. <u>SF 86</u> was moved to the calendar as an individual bill.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom introduced <u>SSB 1121</u>, provided the subcommittee report, and gave opening comments on the bill.

Vice Chair Senator Shipley opened the floor to discussion.

Vice Chair Senator Shipley recognized Senator Zumbach.

Senator Zumbach commented on the bill, noting the financial struggles of Honey Creek and taxpayers.

Seeing no further discussion, Senator Rozenboom gave closing comments and moved <u>SSB</u> <u>1121</u>.

Ranking Member Senator Hogg requested a short form voice vote. <u>SSB 1121</u> passed unanimously on a short form voice vote as a committee bill.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom introduced <u>SSB 1122</u>, provided the subcommittee report, and gave opening comments on this "omniboat" bill.

Vice Chair Senator Shipley opened the floor to discussion.

Seeing none, Senator Rozenboom gave closing comments and moved <u>SSB 1122</u>.

Ranking Member Senator Hogg requested a short form voice vote. <u>SSB 1122</u> passed unanimously on a short form voice vote as a committee bill.

Vice Chair Senator Shipley turned the Chair over to Chairman Senator Rozenboom.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom recognized Senator Cournoyer for <u>SF 215</u>. Senator Cournoyer introduced <u>SF 215</u>, provided the subcommittee report, and gave opening comments on the bill.

Senator Cournoyer introduced Senate Amendment 215.218.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom opened the floor to discussion.

Seeing none, Chairman Senator Rozenboom recognized Senator Cournoyer for closing

comments. Senator Cournoyer gave closing comments and moved the amendment.

Ranking Member Senator Hogg requested a short form voice vote. Senate Amendment 215.218 passed unanimously on a short form voice vote.

Chairman Senator Rozenboom asked if there was any further discussion on <u>SF 215</u>.

Seeing none, Chairman Senator Rozenboom recognized Senator Cournoyer for closing

comments. Senator Cournoyer gave closing comments on the bill and moved SF 215.

Ranking Member Senator Hogg requested a short form voice vote. <u>SF 215</u>, as amended, passed unanimously on a short form voice vote as a committee bill.

Senator Behn moved to adjourn.

The committee adjourned at 2:49 pm.

Gina Ten Pas, Committee Secretary