## MINUTES

## STUDIES COMMITTEE OF THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

July 25, 1973

The second meeting of the Studies Committee of the 1973-75 Legislative Council was called to order by the Committee Chairman, Senator Willard R. Hansen, at 9:15 a.m. Wednesday, July 25, 1973 in the Legislative Fiscal Director's Conference Room with the following members present in addition to Chairman Hansen:

Senator Lucas J. DeKoster
Senator Karl Nolin
Senator Roger Shaff
Senator Earl Willits
Speaker Andrew Varley
Representative Dale M. Cochran
Representative Edgar H. Holden
Representative James I. Middleswart
Representative Delwyn D. Stromer

Also present were Senior Research Analyst Phil Burks and Legal Counsel Burnette Koebernick of the Legislative Service Bureau.

Chairman Hansen stated that the purpose of the meeting was to reach final agreement on recommendations to the full Legislative Council with respect to membership of the various study committees authorized by the Council for the 1973 interim at the Council's July 10-11 meeting. A discussion of this matter ensued, at the conclusion of which the list of recommendations was agreed upon.

Following agreement upon recommendations to the Council for membership of the respective interim study committees, it was pointed out that there were on file a number of proposals from chairmen of standing committees relative to formation of joint interim subcommittees. Chairman Hansen expressed the view that since the Studies Committee meeting had already continued past the time originally set for the convening of the full Council, it would not be feasible to take these proposals up at the present meeting, and at least one more meeting of the Studies Committee should therefore be held for this purpose. There was general agreement with this suggestion.

The meeting of the Studies Committee was adjourned at 10:15 a.m.

Repsectfully submitted,

PHILIP E. BURKS Senior Research Analyst

BURNETTE E. KOEBERNICK Legal Counsel

## MEMBERSHIP ON 1973 INTERIM STUDY COMMITTEES

Senate members:	House members:	(Advisory members?):
Winkelman	Miller	
Ramsey	Ferguson	
Gallagher	Hargrave	
· •	Caffrey	
Iowa Civil Rights	Commission and Minority	Groups Study Committee
(7 legislative memi	pers)	
Senate members:	House members:	: (Advisory members?):
McCartney	Hansen (Ingwer)	:
Murray	, Cusak	
Orr	Readinger	
;	Neilsen	
Higher Education S	tudy Committee (8 legis	lative members)
Higher Education S Senate members:	tudy Committee (8 legis  House members:	<pre>lative members)  (Advisory members?):</pre>
	:	
Senate members:	House members:	
Senate members: Andersen	House members:	
Senate members: Andersen Murray	House members: Welden Egenes	
Senate members: Andersen Murray Hansen Doderer	House members: Welden Egenes Wells	(Advisory members?):
Senate members: Andersen Murray Hansen Doderer	House members:  Welden  Egenes  Wells  Hill  Juvenile Institutions S	(Advisory members?):
Senate members: Andersen Murray Hansen Doderer Mental Health and	House members:  Welden  Egenes  Wells  Hill  Juvenile Institutions S	(Advisory members?):
Senate members:  Andersen  Murray  Hansen  Doderer  Mental Health and  (7 legislative members:	House members:  Welden  Egenes  Wells  Hill  Juvenile Institutions Seers)	(Advisory members?):
Senate members:  Andersen  Murray  Hansen  Doderer  Mental Health and  (7 legislative members:	House members:  Welden  Egenes  Wells  Hill  Juvenile Institutions S bers)  House members:	(Advisory members?):  tudy Committee  (Advisory members?):
Senate members:  Andersen  Murray  Hansen  Doderer  Mental Health and  (7 legislative members:  Senate members:	House members:  Welden  Egenes  Wells  Hill  Juvenile Institutions S bers)  House members:  Holden	(Advisory members?):  tudy Committee  (Advisory members?):  Mrs. Bernard Goldman

	Senate members:	House members:	(Advisory members?):		
	Miller, Elizabeth	Pellett .	James Mohr - Farmer		
	Bergman	Harvey	real estate Norm Faucher - developer		
	Milligan	Middleswart	Sierra Club &		
	Winkelman	Small	Environmental Groups		
	Heying	Varley			
	Palmer	Cochran			
	Scott	Tofte			
6.	Penal and Correctional	Systems Study Commit	tee (10 legislative members)		
	Senate members:	House members:	(Advisory members?):		
	Kelly :	Doyle			
	Milligan	Lipsky			
	Schwengels	McCormick			
	Glenn	Oakley	•		
	Kennedy				
7.	Regulation of Consumer	Credit Charges Study	Committee		
	(10 legislative members)				
	Senate members:	House members:	(Advisory members?):		
	Shaw	. Roorda			
	Curtis	West	·		
	Tieden	Brochett			
	Gluba	Rinas			
	Hill	Horn `			

. <b>8</b> .	Local Funding and Budg	geting Study Committee	(10 legislative members)
	Senate members:	House members:	(Advisory members?):
	Griffin	Stromer	Includes county
	Potter	Stanley	officers salary
	Briles	Roorda	
	Willits	Husak	
	Van Gilst	Norland	
9.	Reduction of Highway F	atalities Study Commi	ttee (10 legislative member
	Senate members:	House members:	(Advisory members?):
	Plymat	Dunlap	
	Taylor	Kreamer	
	Ramsey	Wolfe	
	Kennedy	Wykoff	
	Robinson	Mennenga	
10.	Energy Crisis Study Co	ommittee (10 legislati	ve members)
	Senate members:	. House members:	(Advisory members?):
	Milligan	Butler	
	Shaff	Ewing	
	Hultman	Brockett	
	Blouin	Higgins	
	Junkins	Hutchins	·
11.	Pension and Retirement	t Programs Study Commi	ittee (7 legislative members
	Senate members:	House members:	(Advisory members?):
	Curtis	Junker	
	Nystrom	Byerly	
	Doderer	Edelen	`
,		ŧ.	