MINUTES

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL STUDIES COMMITTEE

July 23, 1975

The meeting of the Studies Committee of the Legislative Council was called to order by Co-Chairperson Representative Jerome Fitzgerald at 1:30 p.m. on Wednesday, July 23, 1975 in the Speaker's Room of the State House, Des Moines, Iowa. Members present at the meeting were:

Senator George Kinley, Co-Chairperson
Representative Jerome Fitzgerald, Co-Chairperson
Senator Willard R. Hansen
Senator Eugene M. Hill
Senator Clifton C. Lamborn
Senator Bass Van Gilst
Representative Dale Cochran
Representative William J. Hargrave
Representative Floyd Millen
Representative Andrew Varley

Also present were:

Mr. Serge Garrison, Director, Legislative Service Bureau Mrs. Jeanne Doggett, Research Analyst, Legislative Service Bureau Mrs. Debra Dahab, Research Analyst, Legislative Service Bureau

Co-Chairpersons Kinley and Fitzgerald proceeded to list for the benefit of the Studies Committee, and the full Legislative Council, members of the General Assembly which were appointed to study committees for the 1975 interim, which include the study committees approved at the July 23 meeting of the Legislative Council with the exception of the Campaign Finance and Disclosure Laws Study Committee. It was agreed by the Studies Committee that the campaign finance and disclosure laws study would be referred to a ten-member joint subcommittee of the Committees on State Government.

Senator Hill moved that a six-member joint subcommittee of the Committees on State Government be appointed to review problems with laws relating to barbers and cosmetologists and recommended three or four meetings of the subcommittee. Co-Chairperson Kinley seconded the motion which carried by a unanimous vote of the Studies Committee.

Speaker Cochran asked that the Studies Committee review membership on the School Finance Research Subcommittee to which the study of the Iowa school aid formula was assigned on July 7, 1975. Senator Hansen noted that the Legislative Council's original intention was to appoint members serving on the School Finance

Legislative Council Studies Committee Minutes - July 23, 1975
Page 2

Subcommittee οf the Committees Education, but on Representative Terry Dyrland had replaced Representative Richard Co-Chairperson Fitzgerald moved and Speaker Cochran seconded the motion that all current members of the Subcommittee be retained and that Representative Byerly be added to the membership of the Subcommittee as the fourteenth member. Senator Lamborn made a substitute motion that membership on the Subcommittee be limited to the original School Finance Subcommittee. Representative Varley seconded the substitute motion which failed to carry by a vote of six to four. The motion by Co-Chairperson Fitzgerald carried with Senators Hansen and Lamborn voting in the negative.

At Co-Chairperson Fitzgerald's motion, the Studies Committee unanimously approved the appointment of members to the fourteen 1975 interim study committees. (A list of the study committees and their membership was subsequently mailed to each member of the general assembly appointed to serve on a study committee.)

The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

JEANNE DOGGETT Research Analyst