MINUTES

IOWA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

July 19, 1989

PRELIMINARY BUSINESS

The fourth meeting of the 1989-90 Legislative Council was called to order by Senator Bill Hutchins, Chairperson, at 2:25 p.m., Wednesday, July 19, 1989, in Senate Room 22, State House, Des Moines, Iowa. Members present in addition to Chairperson Hutchins were:

Speaker Don Avenson, Vice Chairperson Lieutenant Governor Jo Ann Zimmerman Senator C. Joseph Coleman Senator Donald V. Doyle Senator Donald V. Doyle Senator Emil J. Husak Senator Calvin O. Hultman Senator John N. Nystrom Senator John N. Nystrom Senator Joe J. Welsh Representative Bob Arnould Representative Florence Buhr Representative John H. Connors Representative Delwyn Stromer Representative William H. Harbor Representative Mary A. Lundby

Also present were Diane Bolender, Acting Director, Legislative Service Bureau; Dennis Prouty, Director, Legislative Fiscal Bureau; Bill Angrick, Citizens' Aide/Ombudsman; Sandy Scharf, Director, Computer Support Bureau; Thane R. Johnson, Senior Research Analyst, Legislative Service Bureau; other legislative staff members; representatives of the news media; and other interested persons.

MINUTES APPROVED

Senator Hultman moved that the minutes of the June 21 Council meeting be approved as distributed. The motion was adopted.

Iowa Legislative Council Minutes - July 19, 1989 Page 2

PUBLICATION COSTS FOR LEGISLATIVE PUBLICATIONS

Chairperson Hutchins asked Ms. Bolender for a brief review of the memorandum from Ms. Kristi Little, Superintendent, General Services Printing Division, regarding publication costs for the 1989-90 Legislative Service Bureau publications. Ms. Bolender summarized the memorandum and stated that the recommended publication prices reflect increases in postage, printing, and volume of information. She added that the recommended increase is 15 percent. In reply to a question by Senator Hultman, Ms. Little, who was present at the meeting, responded that the price increase does not include an increased profit to the state. A copy of the memorandum from Ms. Little is attached to, and by this reference made a part of, these minutes.

In response to a question by Senator Husak, Ms. Bolender responded that the 1989 Code Supplement will be published by the Legislative Service Bureau this year and that the Supplement is scheduled to be completed before the Second Regular Session commences. Likewise, she added, the 1991 Code of Iowa is scheduled to be published and available before the beginning of the 1991 Regular Session of the General Assembly.

There being no further comments, Senator Hultman moved that the Legislative Council adopt the recommended price list for the 1989-90 Legislative Service Bureau publication as submitted by Ms. Kristi Little, Superintendent, Printing Division, Department of General Services. The motion was adopted.

CORRECTIONS SYSTEM REVIEW TASK FORCE

Concerning a request for two additional members from the Corrections System Review Task Force to represent the Judicial Branch and prosecuting attorneys, Senator Hultman questioned whether the Legislative Council could pay these appointees per diem and expenses as requested. Following discussion, it was a consensus of the Council that the per diem and expenses of members of the Corrections System Review Task Force will be paid according to the usual interim policy. Vice Chairperson Avenson moved that the Task Force request for additional membership be adopted and that the members be appointed by the four legislative leaders. The motion was adopted. A copy of the memorandum of request is attached to, and by this reference made a part of, these minutes.

ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE REPORT

Chairperson Hutchins next recognized Senator Doyle for the Report of the Administration Committee. Senator Doyle briefly reviewed the recommendations of the Committee regarding the House and Senate sound systems, House voting notification, media cable Iowa Legislative Council Minutes - July 19, 1989 Page 3 installation, sale of legislative computer tapes, and possible replacement of receivers for legislative debate and proceedings within the Capitol Complex. After discussion, Senator Doyle moved the adoption of the Report of the Administration Committee. The motion was adopted. A copy of the Report is attached to, and by this reference made a part of, these minutes.

SERVICE COMMITTEE REPORT

Chairperson Hutchins recognized Representative Connors for the Report of the Service Committee. Representative Connors reviewed the recommendations of the Committee. Senator Hultman stated that the parental leave policy guidelines should be amended to state that the parental leave policy applies to "birth or adoption of a child", not only the "birth of a child". Representative Connors noted that Senator Hultman's statement is correct and asked for unanimous consent to amend the policy guidelines. There was no objection. There being no further comment, Representative Connors moved the adoption of the Report of the Service Committee as amended. The motion was adopted. A copy of the Report of the Service Committee is attached, and by this reference made a part of, these minutes.

EXPERT WITNESS EXPENSES

Chairperson Hutchins asked for any further business. Vice Chairperson Avenson responded that the Energy Efficiency Interim Committee requests approval of the Council to pay the fees and expenses of expert witnesses invited to testify before the Study Committee. In reply to a question by Senator Hultman, Vice Chairperson Avenson responded that he does not have the estimated cost of the fees and expenses, but he would not authorize excessive requests. In reply to a question by Senator Husak, Vice Chairperson Avenson stated that the fees and expenses for an expert such as Mr. Amory Lovins, expert on energy efficiency matters from Colorado, may be as much as \$5,000 to \$6,000.

PUBLIC MEMBER APPOINTMENTS

Vice Chairperson Avenson announced the appointment of the following nonlegislative members to the Health Care Expansion Task Force:

Mary Bergstrom, Des Moines	Myron Linn, Pella Mary Noland, Adair Robert Richard, Independence
Janet Burch, Des Moines	
Dr. Steve Gleason, Des Moines	
Dave Neil, Waterloo	Vivian Bovenmeyer, Garner

Iowa Legislative Council Minutes - July 19, 1989 Page 4

The following seven nonlegislative members were appointed to the Air Link Transportation Commission:

CLOSING REMARKS

1

Representative Connors thanked the Council staff, specifically those working with the Service Committee, for their work on the extensive agenda completed by the Committee.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Chairperson Hutchins accepted Senator Hultman's motion to adjourn at 2:50 p.m. The motion was adopted.

Respectfully submitted,

DIANE BOLENDER Acting Director

THANE R. JOHNSON Senior Research Analyst

minutes,lc719
tj/dg/20