MINUTES

IOWA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

February 14, 1985

The organizational meeting of the 1985-1986 Iowa Legislative Council was called to order at 11:40 a.m. by Acting Chairperson, Senator C. Joseph Coleman, on Thursday, February 14, 1985, in Committee Room 22 of the State House, Des Moines, Iowa. Members present in 160 addition to the Chairperson were:

Senator Lowell Junkins
Speaker Don Avenson
Lieutenant Governor Robert Anderson
Senator Donald Doyle
Senator Lee Holt
Senator Calvin Hultman
Senator C. W. (Bill) Hutchins
Senator David Readinger
Senator Norman Rodgers
Senator Dale Tieden
Senator Joe Welsh
Representative Dale Cochran
Representative John Connors
Representative Thomas Jochum
Representative Delwyn Stromer

Also present were:

- Mr. Burnette Koebernick, Acting Director Legislative Service Bureau
- Mr. Dennis Prouty, Director Legislative Fiscal Bureau
- Mr. Bill Angrick, Citizens' Aide
- Mr. Thane Johnson, Senior Research Analyst Legislative Service Bureau
- Ms. Diane Bolender, Senior Research Analyst Legislative Service Bureau

Also present were other Iowa legislative staff persons, news media personnel, and other interested individuals.

Senator Coleman entertained nominations for the office of permanent Chairperson of the Legislative Council. Senator Hultman nominated Senator Junkins, and a unanimous ballot was cast for Senator Junkins.

Iowa Legislative Council Minutes - February 14, 1985 Page 2

Senator Junkins assumed the chair and called for nominations for the Vice Chairperson. Representative Connors nominated Speaker Avenson and a unanimous ballot was cast for Speaker Avenson. Representative Connors moved that the Proposed Rules for the 1985-1986 Legislative Council, that were distributed to Council members, be adopted as the Permanent Rules for the 1985-1986 Legislative Council, and the motion was adopted.

Representative Connors moved that the Legislative Council receive and file the Educational Leave Report and the motion carried.

Chairman Junkins announces the appointments to the Legislative Council Committees. Speaker Avenson moved that the Legislative Council approve the appointments to Council committees, and the motion was adopted. A copy of the listing of Legislative Council committees and members is attached and by this reference made a part of these minutes.

Speaker Avenson moved that the following individuals be appointed as members of the Professional and Occupational Regulation Commission: Senator Doug Ritsema, Representative Jane Teaford, and Mr. Ross Sherwood. The motion was adopted.

Representative Connors moved that the minutes of the 1983-1984 Legislative Council meeting of December 17, 1984 be approved as distributed, and the motion carried.

Chairman Junkins noted that the Education Task Force has requested approval for a meeting on April 5, 1985 to review actions of the General Assembly relating to the Task Force's recommendations. Representative Stromer moved that the Legislative Council approve the meeting for the Task Force, and the motion carried.

Senator Hutchins moved that the Legislative Council authorize the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate and Speaker and Minority Leader of the House to make appointments to a Collective Bargaining Study Committee consisting of nine citizen members to study collective bargaining statutes as they relate to school corporations. The Education Committees of the House and Senate have requested that the appointments be made as soon as possible so that the Collective Bargaining Study Committee can begin meeting in March and complete its report before the next session of the General Assembly. Senator Hutchins' motion was adopted.

Mr. Koebernick noted that he had received a letter from Ms. Phyllis Barry, Deputy Code Editor, requesting that Ms. Kathleen Deutsch, be transferred from temporary to permanent status with no change in salary. Senator Hultman inquired whether it will be necessary to employ proofreaders once the Code of Iowa is available on the computer for publication purposes. Mr. Koebernick responded

Iowa Legislative Council Minutes - February 14, 1985 Page 3

that proofreaders will be needed for the Administrative Code as well as the Code of Iowa.

Senator Hultman asked for an update about Code publication progress. Mr. Koebernick responded that the legislative staff people have been pleased with the progress that is being made on development of the Code publication process.

In response to Ms. Barry's request, she noted that three proofreaders have recently retired or resigned and she needs Ms. Deutsch to become a permanent proofreader. Speaker Avenson moved that the Legislative Council approve the recommendation for change in status, and the motion carried.

Speaker Avenson moved that the search for a new Director of the Legislative Service Bureau be carried out in the same manner as the search for Director of the Legislative Fiscal Bureau. The Search Committee will consist of the Service Committee of the Legislative Council working in cooperation with the Majority and Minority Leaders of the Senate and the Speaker and Minority Leader of the House. The motion was adopted.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:00 noon.

Respectfully submitted,

BURNETTE E. KOEBERNICK, Acting Director

DIANE BOLENDER, Senior Research Analyst