STUDIES COMMITTEE OF THE IOWA LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

September 8, 1971

The third meeting of the Studies Committee of the Iowa Legislative Council was called to order by the Committee Chairman, Representative Andrew P. Varley, at 1:10 p.m., Wednesday, September 8, 1971, in the Speaker's Room, State House, Des Moines. Members present in addition to Chairman Varley were:

Speaker William H. Harbor Senator Vernon H. Kyhl Senator Clifton C. Lamborn Representative Dale M. Cochran

Also present were Serge Garrison, Phil Burks, and Don Hoskins, of the Legislative Service Bureau staff.

Copies of a document entitled "Additional Members Requested by Study Committees" were distributed to Committee members. A copy of the document is attached to and by this reference made a part of these minutes.

It was agreed to recommend to the Council the appointment of Representative Raymond J. Taylor to serve on the Building Code Study Committee in place of Representative Murray Lawson.

It was decided to recommend to the Council the appointment of Senators Dean Arbuckle and Ralph Potter to replace Senators James Potgeter and Tom Riley, respectively, on the Penal and Correctional Institutions Study Committee. It was pointed out that, under the policy adopted by the Legislative Council that no interim study committee should have advisory members in excess of one-half the number of legislative members, the Penal and Correctional Institutions Study Committee would be entitled to only five advisory members. However, it had already been decided to appoint one inmate from each of the three state adult correctional institutions as an advisory member of this Study Committee, and an additional six persons had now been proposed as advisory members. After some discussion, it was agreed to recommend to the Council the appointment of Mr. Landeck, Mr. Jones, Mr. DeRaad and Professor McCue in addition to the three inmates, as advisory members of the Penal and Correctional Institutions Study Committee, and request the Council to allow the additional advisory members in this case only.

The Studies Committee then considered for some minutes the suggestions for appointees as advisory members of the School Systems and Standards Study Committee. Chairman Varley stated that while he considers Mr. Robert Buck to be quite well qualified to serve as an advisory member of this Study Committee, he also believes that Mr. Buck can make a unique contribution as an advisory member of the Land Use Study Committee, and would prefer Studies Committee Iowa Legislative Council Minutes - September 8, 1971 Page 2

to see him serve in that capacity. After further discussion, Senator Kyhl moved that the names of Mr. Buck and Mr. Adrian Brinck be deleted from the list submitted, and the remaining five names submitted be recommended to the Legislative Council for appointment as advisory members of the School Systems and Standards Study Committee. The motion was adopted by a unanimous voice vote.

On motion of Senator Kyhl, it was agreed to recommend to the Legislative Council the reappointment of Mr. Charles Vanderbur to the Criminal Code Review Study Committee, in accordance with his request and the recommendation of Representative Robert Kreamer, the Committee Chairman.

There was a brief discussion of possible appointments to the committee to study financial assistance to local governments for providing area services, which had been approved at the morning session of the present day's Council meeting. It was decided to recommend to the Council that the Study Committee consist of Senators Roger Shaff, John Rhodes, and Gene Kennedy, and Representatives Don Alt, Henry Mollett, and Joseph C. Johnston.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

SERGE H. GARRISON Director

PHILIP E. BURKS Senior Research Analyst