MINUTES

LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL

March 24, 1981

The second meeting of the 1981-1983 Legislative Council was called to order at 12:05 p.m., Tuesday, March 24, 1981 in Committee Room 22 of the State House, Des Moines. Council members attending were:

Senator Calvin O. Hultman, Chairperson Speaker Delwyn Stromer, Vice Chairperson Lieutenant Governor Terry Branstad Senator Gary L. Baugher Senator James E. Briles Senator C. Joseph Coleman Senator C. W. (Bill) Hutchins Senator Lc. Well L. Junkins Senator John S. Murray Senator Richard Ramsey Senator Ray Taylor Representative Robert T. Anderson Representative Donald D. Avenson Representative John H. Clark Representative John H. Connors Representative Ingwer L. Hansen Representative Lester D. Menke Representative Lawrence Pope Representative Richard W. Welden

Other persons present for the meeting were:

- Dr. William Farrell, Legislative Environmental Advisory Group (LEAG)
- Mr. Gerry Rankin, Legislative Fiscal Director
- Mr. Burnette Koebernick, Legislative Service Bureau
- Ms. Diane Bolender, Legislative Service Bureau

Also present were a number of other Iowa legislative staff persons, news media representatives, and other interested individuals.

Speaker Stromer moved that the minutes of the previous meeting be approved as submitted to Council members, and the motion was adopted.

Copies of committee memberships of the Legislative Council were distributed to Council members. Representative Pope moved that the committee memberships be approved as submitted. Senator Murray commented that Representative Welden should be listed as the Chairperson of the Fiscal Committee. The change was made and Representative Pope's motion was adopted. A copy of the committee memberships is attached and by this reference made a part of these minutes.

Legislative Council Minutes - March 24, 1981 Page 2

Chairperson Hultman called for comments from Dr. Farrell about the future activities of the Legislative Environmental Advisory Group. Dr. Farrell explained that LEAG was created in 1978 to provide research and technical assistance on environmental issues to the General Assembly. He stated that LEAG has just completed reports in five areas and has distributed copies of the reports to the members of the appropriate standing committees. He listed the following as reports completed in 1980:

- 1. Feasibility of land banking railroad right-of-way.
- 2. Municipal and cooperative operation of branch railroad lines in Iowa: two alternatives to abandonment.
 - 3. Alternative methods of watershed protection in Iowa.
- 4. Crop suitability rating and zoning: an evaluation and analysis of its potential as an integrated management tool to preserve prime agricultural land and to discourage urban sprawl.
 - 5. Hazardous waste management: problems and priorities.
 - 6. 1980 summary report.

Dr. Farrell noted that the Legislative Council had previously approved an application to the National Science Foundation to underwrite the costs of the program for the coming year. He explained that although the application was approved, with recent events occuring in the federal government, the grant is unlikely to be funded. Dr. Farrell indicated that with funds remaining from previous years, it will be possible for LEAG to perform four new studies and short-term research projects. He asked that LEAG be granted approval to continue and to use its remaining funds for research efforts. He asked for direction from the Council concerning the selection of projects and research for the coming fiscal year.

Speaker Stromer noted that there have been comments made that the scope of issues studied by LEAG could be expanded to issues outside the environmental area. He also asked whether all institutions of higher learning in Iowa have been involved. Dr. Farrell agreed that expanding the scope of LEAG is a good idea, and he explained that the proposal to the National Science Foundation would have provided for an expansion of subject areas. He also explained that in the past representation on LEAG was limited to Iowa State University and the State University of Iowa, but LEAG has always involved all educational institutions in this state. He also suggested that the representation on LEAG be expanded to include the University of Northern Iowa.

Senator Hultman named the following to serve as a liaison committee between LEAG and the Legislative Council and the General Assembly and to assist in determining study projects: Speaker Stromer (Chairperson), Senator Junkins, Senator Murray, Representative Cusack, and Representative Pope.

Legislative Council Minutes - March 24, 1981 Page 3

Senator Coleman moved that the Legislative Council accept the educational leave report. Representative Welden questioned the necessity for several of the courses which were approved by the state comptroller for educational leave. The motion to approve the educational leave report carried, with Representative Hansen voting in the negative.

The Legislative Council adjourned at 12:17 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

DIANE BOLENDER Senior Research Analyst

BURNETTE KOEBERNICK Senior Legal Counsel