COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date: February 26, 2018 Location: RM 22

Convened: 3:05 PM
Adjourned: 3:40 PM
Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Segebart-CH, Costello-VC, Mathis-RM, Bolkcom, Chapman, Garrett,

Greene, Jochum, Johnson, C., Quirmbach, Ragan, Shipley

Absent:

Excused: Senator Chelgren

Chairman Segebart called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

Roll call was taken. A quorum was present. Senator Chelgren was excused until he arrives. Senator D. Johnson is present.

Distribution: List of subcommittee assigned since last meeting (see below).

Democrats caucused briefly.

Senator Garrett moved to approve minutes of 2/21/2018. Minutes were unanimously approved.

Senator Costello took the Chair and recognized Senator Segebart for comments on Suzanne Heckenlaible, member, Commission on Aging. Subcommittee recommends approval. Committee approved by voice vote, 12-0, and will move to En bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Senator Costello recognized C. Johnson for comments on Dennis Bush, member, Mental Health and Disability Services Commission. Subcommittee recommends approval. Committee approved by voice vote, 12-0, and will move to En bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Senator Costello recognized Senator Chapman for comments on Albert Mingo, member, Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators. Subcommittee recommends approval. Committee approved by voice vote, 12-0, and will move to En bloc Confirmation Calendar.

Senator Costello recognized Senator Segebart for comments on Jerry Foxhoven, Director of the Department of Human Services. Subcommittee recommends approval. Comments were offered by Senator Bolkcom. Committee approval by record vote. Ayes: 7 (Segebart, Costello, Chapman, Garrett, Greene, C.Johnson, Shipley); Nays: 5 (Mathis, Bolkcom, Jochum, Quirmbach, Ragan); Absent: 1 (Chelgren). Nominee will be placed on Individual Confirmation Calendar.

Chair returned to Senator Segebart who introduced guest speaker, Linda Miller, Director of the Iowa Department of Aging, for a presentation on Access to Dementia-Specific Care. Comments/questions were offered by Senators Greene, Ragan, Bolkcom, Costello and Segebart.

Senator Shipley moved to arise. Meeting was adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Human Resources Subcommittee Assignments Date 02/21/2018 - 04/30/2018

Bill Bill Title Legislators Meetings

A bill for an act relating to supplemental reimbursement for eligible ground emergency medical Chapman transportation providers through the Bolkcom Medicaid program, and including Segebart effective date provisions. (Formerly HF 2103.)

HF 2285

Senator Mark Segebart	
Sue Grove, Committee Secretary	