Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date: *March 30, 2017*

Location: *RM 22*

Convened: 2:05 PM

Adjourned: 3:05 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Smith-CH, Chapman-VC, Bisignano-RM, Bowman, Brown, Danielson, Dawson, Feenstra, Jochum, Petersen, Schneider, Schultz, Zaun

Absent:

Excused: Senators Anderson, Horn

The meeting was called to order.

Attendance was taken.

Minutes from 3/28/2017 were unanimously approved.

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Brown, subcommittee chair for <u>HF 467</u>, to give opening remarks. No discussion on the bill was had. Closing remarks were made by Senator Brown. A short form vote was requested and held. <u>HF 467</u> passed by a vote of 13 AYES, 0 NAYS and 2 absent (Anderson, Horn).

HF 467 moves to the calendar.

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Schultz, subcommittee chair for <u>HF 541</u>, to give opening remarks. Discussion was had on the bill. Senator Schultz moved the bill to a vote. A short form vote was requested. <u>HF 541</u> passed by a vote of 13 AYES, 0 NAYS and 2 absent (Anderson, Horn).

HF 541 moves to the calendar.

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Brown, subcommittee chair for <u>HF 566</u>, to give opening remarks. Discussion was had on the bill. Senator Brown moved the bill to a vote. A short form vote was requested. <u>HF 566</u> passed by a vote of 13 AYES, 0 NAYS and 2 absent (Anderson, Horn).

HF 566 moves to the calendar.

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Dawson, subcommittee chair for <u>HF 571</u>, to give opening remarks. Senator Dawson and subcommittee met and passed <u>HF 571</u> without recommendation. Discussion was had on the bill. Senator Dawson moved the bill to a vote. A short form vote was requested. <u>HF 571</u> passed by a vote of 11 AYES, 2 NAYS (Danielson, Jochum) and 2 absent (Anderson, Horn).

<u>HF 571</u> moves to the calendar.

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Chapman, subcommittee chair for <u>HF 601</u>, to give opening remarks on the bill and the amendment (.1874). No discussion was held on the amendment. A short form vote was requested. The amendment passed by a vote of 13 AYES, 0 NAYS and 2 absent (Anderson, Horn). Discussion was had on the bill. Senator Chapman moved the bill to a vote. A short form vote was requested. <u>HF 541</u>, as amended, passed by a vote of 13 AYES, 0 NAYS, 0 NAYS and 2 absent (Anderson, Horn).

<u>HF 601</u>, as amended, moves to the calendar.

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Schneider, subcommittee chair for <u>HF 89</u>, to give opening remarks. No discussion on the bill was had. Closing remarks were made by Senator Schneider. A short form vote was requested and held. <u>HF 89</u> passed by a vote of 13 AYES, 0 NAYS and 2 absent (Anderson, Horn).

HF 89 moves to the calendar. The following Governor appointments were voted by short form for approval by a vote of 13 AYES, 0 NAYS and 2 absent (Anderson, Horn): Benjamin Jung – Commission of Asian & Pacific Islander Affairs James Suong – Commission of Asian & Pacific Islander Affairs John Anderson – Board of Barbering Terry Moll - Board of Barbering Ryan Brems – Commission for the Blind Robert Brecke – Boiler and Pressure Vessel Board Timothy Fehr - Boiler and Pressure Vessel Board Amy Iles - Boiler and Pressure Vessel Board Leslie Duinink – Board of Chiropractic Dr. Rex Jones – Board of Chiropractic Nancy Netolicky – Board of Chiropractic Anna Brown – Commission on Community Action Agencies Ajit Kumar – Commission on Community Action Agencies Mary Whisenand – Commission on Community Action Agencies Jerry Akers – Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences Mary Clausen – Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences Jacquelyn Hein – Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences Nichole Origer – Board of Cosmetology Arts and Sciences Robert Palmer – Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy Melinda Shetler – Board of Physical and Occupational Therapy Dr. Jon Ahrendsen – Board of Physician Assistants Michael Schnurr – Board of Physician Assistants Joshua Goodman – Board of Psychology Holly Herbert – Board of Psychology Dr. Earl Kilgore – Board of Psychology Dr. Heidi Vermeer-Quist – Board of Psychology Ryan Crawford – Board of Massage Therapy Michael Hammer – Board of Massage Therapy Irene Richards – Board of Massage Therapy Catherine Sampson – Board of Massage Therapy Emily Farrell Bauler – Board of Massage Therapy Hamed Tewfik – Board of Medicine Dr. Michael Davidson – Board of Dentistry Mary Kelly Grief – Board of Dentistry Bruce Thorsen – Board of Dentistry Daniel Deutschman – Board of Dietetics Julie Eichenberger – Board of Dietetics Stacey Loftus – Board of Dietetics Marg Stoldorf – Electrical Examining Board Kerry Dixon – Elevator Safety Board Kristine Kesterson – Elevator Safety Board Wayne Sims – Elevator Safety Board Jack Jones - Landscape Architectural Examining Board Jonathan Martin – Landscape Architectural Examining Board Debra Schiel-Larson – Landscape Architectural Examining Board Dr. Brett Barker – Board of Pharmacy Gayle Mayer – Board of Pharmacy Joan Skogstrom – Board of Pharmacy The Governor appointees move to the En Bloc calendar. Senator Schultz moved to arise.

Senator Roby Smith

Carrie Genest, Committee Secretary