Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for COMMERCE

Date: March 28, 2017

Location: RM 22

Convened: *4:05 PM*

Adjourned: 4:45 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Anderson-CH, Breitbach-VC, Petersen-RM, Allen, Bertrand, Boulton, Feenstra, Guth, Johnson, C., Lykam, Mathis, Sinclair, Zaun, Zumbach

Absent:

Excused: Senator McCoy

- The Commerce Committee was called to order at 4:05 p.m.
- Attendance was taken silently.
- The draft minutes of March 2, 2017, were approved as published.
- Republicans and Democrats caucused, returning at 4:25 p.m.
- Senator Anderson introduced Richard Lozier, the Governor's appointee to the Utilities Board. Lozier made comments and responded to a question from Senator Petersen. He was confirmed unanimously on a short form vote and will move to the Individual Calendar.
- Senator Zumbach offered introductory comments on Ron Hansen, the Governor's appointee for Superintendent of Banking. There were no questions or comments and he was unanimously approved on a short form vote and will move to the Individual Calendar.
- Senator C. Johnson offered introductory comments on Doug Ommen, the Governor's appointee for Commissioner of Insurance. There were no questions or comments and he was unanimously approved on a short form vote and will move to the Individual Calendar.
- Senator Guth presented the Governor's appointees Ruth Rendelman, Michel Nelson and Ashley Aust to the Iowa Finance Authority. Each of these candidates was unanimously approved on a short form vote and will move to the En Bloc Calendar. Senator Petersen requested a record vote for the appointment of David Greenspon to the Iowa Finance Authority. Greenspon was approved on a vote of 11 ayes, 3 nays and will move to the Individual Calendar.
- Senator Zaun offered opening remarks on the Governor's appointment of Janet Pepper to the Credit Union Review Board, and Tim Lapointe the Iowa Telecommunications and Technology Commission. Both candidates were unanimously approved on short form votes and will move to the En Bloc Calendar.
- The Chair recognized Senator C. Johnson for opening comments on <u>HF 309</u>. There were no questions or discussion and the bill was moved and unanimously approved on a short form vote.
- The Chair then recognized Senator Feenstra for opening comments on <u>HF 586</u>. Following remarks, the bill was moved and unanimously approved on a short form vote.
- There being no further business, Senator Lykam moved to arise at 4:45 p.m.

Senator Bill Anderson

Barbara Willey, Committee Secretary