COMMITTEE MINUTES for STATE GOVERNMENT

Date: March 28, 2017 Location: RM 22

Convened: *11:10 AM*

Adjourned: 11:40 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Smith-CH, Chapman-VC, Bisignano-RM, Anderson, Bowman, Brown,

Danielson, Dawson, Feenstra, Horn, Jochum, Petersen, Schneider, Schultz, Zaun

Absent:

Excused:

The meeting was called to order.

Attendance was taken.

Minutes from 3/22/2017 were unanimously approved.

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Chapman, subcommittee chair for <u>HF 471</u>, to give opening remarks. Discussion on the bill was had. Closing remarks were made by Senator Chapman. A short form vote was requested and held. <u>HF 471</u> passed by a short form vote of 15 AYES, 0 NAYS and 0 absent.

HF 471 moves to the calendar.

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Dawson, subcommittee chair for HF 568, to give opening remarks. No discussion was had on the bill. Senator Dawson gave closing remarks and moved the bill to a vote. A short form vote was requested. HF 568 passed by a vote of 15 AYES, 0 NAYS and 0 absent.

HF 471 moves to the calendar.

Chairman Smith turned the chair over to Senator Chapman. Chairman Chapman recognized Senator Smith to give remarks on governor appointee Terry Rich, to be confirmed for appointment as Chief Executive Officer of the Lottery Authority. Senator Smith moved that Terry Rich be confirmed as CEO to the Lottery Authority. A short form vote was requested. Terry Rich was approved by a vote of 15 AYES, 0 NAYS and 0 absent.

Terry Rich will be placed on the Individual calendar for confirmation.

Chairman Chapman turned the chair over to Senator Smith. Chairman Smith recognized Senator Chapman as chairman for the subcommittees for the following appointments:

Kierstyn Bor Michelson – Board of Nursing

B.J. Hoffman – Board of Nursing

Patrick Mooney – Board of Nursing

Daniel Boor – Board of Nursing Home Administrators

Michael Jenison - Board of Nursing Home Administrators

LaDonna Gratias – Board of Pharmacy

Dr. Eugene Nassif – Board of Podiatry

Gerald Edgar – Board of Podiatry

Rebecca Kmett – Board of Podiatry

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Feenstra as chairman for the subcommittees for the following appointments:

Dr. Joe Coulter – Commission of Native American Affairs Crystal Davis – Commission of Native American Affairs

Karen Mackey – Commission of Native American Affairs

Chairman Smith recognized Senator Anderson as chairman for the subcommittees for the following appointments:

Shelley Laracuente – Accountancy Examining Board Aaron Olson – Accountancy Examining Board

1. James Smith – Accountancy Examining Board

Tandi Brannaman – Architectural Examining Board
Paul Herold – Engineering and Land Survey Examining Board
Jonathan Roos – Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board
Mary Rueter – Iowa Ethics and Campaign Disclosure Board
Dr. Scott Ihrke – Board of Optometry
Dr. Michael Portz – Board of Optometry
Jacqueline Pullen – Board of Optometry

A short form vote was requested. All governor appointees were approved with a vote of 15 AYES, 0 NAYS and 0 absent.

The governor appointees move to the En Bloc calendar for confirmation. Senator Schultz moved to arise.

Senator Roby Smith	
Carrie Genest, Committee Secretary	