## COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Date: March 30, 2017 Location: RM 22

Convened: *11:25 AM* 

Adjourned: 11:40 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Segebart-CH, Costello-VC, Mathis-RM, Bolkcom, Chelgren, Garrett,

Greene, Jochum, Johnson, C., Quirmbach, Ragan, Shipley

Absent:

Excused: Senator Chapman

11:25 AM – Meeting called to order by Chairman Senator Segebart. Senator Chapman will be excused until he arrives. Move to approve minutes of previous meeting by Senator Chelgren. Minutes approved by unanimous aye.

<u>HF 532</u> – Floor Manager Senator Shipley gave opening remarks. Additional comments by Senators Greene, Quirmbach and Segebart. Closing remarks by Senator Shipley. Vote by Short Form. Passed. Ayes:12, Nays:0.

Vote on Governor's Appointees to Human Resources:

Cheryl Arnold – Commission on Aging

Quentin Hart – Commission on Aging

G.Willard Jenkins – Commission on Aging

Susan Theisen – Board of Athletic Training

Dr. Kevin Allemagne – Board of Behavioral Science

Donald Gilbert – Board of Behavioral Science

Jeff Kerber – Board of Behavioral Science

Sherill Whisenand – Board of Behavioral Science

Courtney Clarke – Child Advocacy Board

Marc Elcock – Child Advocacy Board

Sara Parris - Child Advocacy Board

Elaine Sanders – Child Advocacy Board

Wayne Schellhammer – Child Advocacy Board

Harold Miller – Health Facilities Council

Brenda Perrin – Health Facilities Council

Eric Kohlsdorf – Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa (HAWK-I) Board

Dr. Kaaren Vargas – Healthy and Well Kids in Iowa (HAWK-I) Board

Mark Anderson – Council on Human Services

Kimberly Kudej – Council on Human Services

Lorena Gingerich – Commission of Latino Affairs

Thomas Bouska – Mental Health and Disability Services Commission

Peter Brantner – Mental Health and Disability Services Commission

Thomas Broeker – Mental Health and Disability Services Commission

Kathryn Johnson – Mental Health and Disability Services Commission

Betty King – Mental Health and Disability Services Commission

Geoff Lauer – Mental Health and Disability Services Commission

Cindy Crawford – Board of Sign Language Interpreters and Transliterators

George Belitsos – Commission on Tobacco Use Prevention and Control

(Sal Alaniz/Latino Affairs Commission has withdrawn application) (Alana Dizdarevic/HAWK-I has withdrawn application) Motion by Senators Mathis and C. Johnson for an En Bloc committee vote on twenty-eight nominees. Call for Short Form. Appointees approved by Committee, Ayes:12, Nays:0. Motion by Senator Quirmbach to place approved appointees on the En Bloc Senate Confirmation Calendar. Motion approved unanimously. Move to adjourn by Senator Mathis.
11:40 AM – Meeting adjourned by Chairman Senator Segebart.
Senator Mark Segebart
Sue Grove, Committee Secretary