\*Senate Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for AGRICULTURE

Date: *March 23, 2017* 

Location: RM 22

Convened: *11:05 AM* 

Adjourned: 11:45 AM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Zumbach-CH, Brown-VC, Kinney-RM, Bowman, Costello, Edler, Hart, Kapucian, Ragan, Rozenboom, Segebart, Taylor

Absent:

Excused: Senator Shipley

Senator Zumbach called the meeting to order at 11:05 am.

The Secretary took roll call silently and excused those not present until they arrive. Senator Shipley was excused.

Senator Zumbach asked to approve minutes from the 3/2/2017 meeting. No corrections or additions. Minutes were approved.

Senator Zumbach announced business to come before the committee.

The committee on Rules and Administration referred the following Governor's appointments to state boards, commissions and departments to the Senate standing Agriculture Committee for investigation of:

- John Fredrickson to Agricultural Development Board
- Lori Goetzinger to Grain Indemnity Fund Board
- Debra Keller to Grain Indemnity Fund Board
- Lisa Donlon to Soil Conservation Committee
- Dale Farnham to Soil Conservation Committee

Senator Zumbach requested subcommittee reports from Senator Edler.

Senator Edler shared the subcommittee report on Debra Keller and Lori Goetzinger.

Senator Zumbach requested subcommittee reports from Senator Kapucian.

Senator Kapucian shared the subcommittee reports on Lisa Donlon and Dale Farnham.

Senator Zumbach requested subcommittee report from Senator Segebart.

Senator Segebart shared the subcommittee report on John Fredrickson.

Senator Zumbach asked for approval of all appointees to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar and recommend appointees be confirmed.

Short form voice vote – all in favor of moving all five candidates to the En Bloc Confirmation Calendar for confirmation.

Senator Zumbach introduced Matt Deppe, Iowa Cattlemen's Assn. for a presentation.

Mr. Deppe shared his presentation and answered questions of the Senator's.

Senator Zumbach asked for any other business to come before the committee. Seeing none Senator Costello made the motion to adjourn at 11:45 am.

Theresa Hildreth , Committee Secretary