\*House Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: February 28, 2017

Location: RM 102, Sup. Ct. Consult

Convened: 2:00 PM

Adjourned: 3:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Baltimore-CH, Carlin-VC, Wolfe-RM, Bennett, Gustafson, Heartsill, Hein, Hinson, Jones, Koester, Lensing, McKean, Meyer, Nunn, Oldson, Olson, Paustian, Rizer, Smith, R., Wessel-Kroeschell, Windschitl

Absent:

Excused:

On February 28th, 2017 at 2:00 P.M., an immediate House Judiciary meeting was held in Room 102.

At 2:01 P.M. the committee stands at ease as both parties go to caucus

At 2:37 P.M. the committee is called back to order

Roll Call was taken, all representatives were present.

As there were no corrections, amendments and/or deletions to the minutes of the past meeting, they were unanimously approved

Chairman Baltimore assigned the following bill:

HJR 11: Nunn-Ch., Hinson, Wolfe

The following bills were considered:

<u>HSB 127</u>- Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Carlin for opening comments. Discussion was now open. With no further discussion Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Carlin for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 21 (aye)-0(nay)-0(absent). <u>HSB 127</u> passed as a committee bill.

<u>HSB 129</u>- Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Jones for opening comments. Discussion was now open. With no further discussion Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Jones for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 13 (aye)-8(nay)-0(absent) the no votes were Representative Wolfe, Representative Bennett, Representative Lensing, Representative Meyer, Representative Oldson, Representative Olson, Representative Smith, and Representative Wessel-Kroeschell. <u>HSB 129</u> passed as a committee bill.

<u>HF 160</u>- Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Heartsill for opening comments. Discussion was now open. There was an amendment. Amendment 739 passed as a voice vote. With no further discussion Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Heartsill for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 21 (aye)-0(nay)-0(absent). <u>HF 160</u> passed as amended as an individual bill.

<u>HF 375</u>- Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Heartsill for opening comments. Discussion was now open. There was an amendment. Amendment 885 passed as a voice vote. With no further discussion Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Heartsill for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 17 (aye)-4(nay)-0(absent) the no votes were Representative Wolfe, Representative Bennett, Representative Lensing, and Representative Olson. <u>HF 375</u> passed as amended as an individual bill.

At this time Chairman Baltimore turned leadership over to Representative Carlin for the reminder of the House Judiciary Committee meeting.

<u>HSB 150</u>- Chairperson Carlin recognized Representative Baltimore for opening comments. Discussion was now open. With no further discussion Chairperson Carlin recognized Representative Baltimore for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 14 (aye)-7(nay)-0(absent)the no votes were Representative Wolfe, Representative Bennett, Representative Lensing, Representative Meyer, Representative Oldson, Representative Smith, and Representative Wessel-Kroeschell. <u>HSB 150</u> passed as a committee bill.

There was a motion and a second to adjourn, the motion passed and the committee adjourned at 3:00 P.M.

Representative Chip Baltimore

Talynn Griggs, Committee Secretary