House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Date: February 28, 2017

Convened: *1:00 PM*

Recessed: 1:05 PM

Reconvened: 1:20 PM

Adjourned: 1:30 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present:

Representatives Highfill-CH, Hager-VC, Staed-RM, Bloomingdale, Carlson, Deyoe, Gaskill, Gassman, Heartsill, Jones, Kaufmann, Kurth, Landon, Lensing, McKean, Meyer, Nielsen, Sheets, Thede, Wolfe

Absent:

Excused: Representative Kressig

Chairman Highfill called the Local Government Committee to order at 1:00.

Both parties caucused at 1:00.

The meeting was called back to order at 1:20.

Roll was called and a quorum was present.

Chairman Highfill asked for the minutes to be approved from the February 20th meeting. The minutes were amended, and the amended minutes were approved.

Chairman Highfill assigned the following bill:

HF 359- Deyoe-Chair, Kaufmann, Thede

Chairman Highfill recognized Representative Gassman for amendment 106 on HSB 11.

Representative Gassman asked to withdraw the amendment, and there were no objections.

Chairman Highfill recognized Representative Gassman was recognized for opening remarks on amendment 747.

There was discussion.

Chairman Highfill recognized Representative Gassman for closing remarks.

Amendment 747 passed with a voice vote.

Chairman Highfill recognized Representative Jones for closing remarks on <u>HSB 11</u>. There was no discussion, and Representative Jones moved the bill.

HSB 11 passed amended as a committee bill with a roll call vote of 12-8. (Aye-Highfill, Hager, Bloomingdale, Carlson, Deyoe, Gassman, Heartsill, Jones, Kaufmann, Landon, McKean, Sheets. Nay-Staed, Gaskill, Kurth, Lensing, Meyer, Nielsen, Thede, Wolfe. Excused-Kressig) Chairman Highfill recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening remarks on <u>HSB 73</u>—A bill for an act allowing for a township of certain counties to petition for annexation by another county.

Chairman Highfill recognized Representative Kaufmann for opening remarks on amendment 211.

Amendment 211 passed with a voice vote.

<u>HSB 73</u> passed as amended as a committee bill with a roll call vote of 12-8. (Aye-Highfill, Hager, Bloomingdale, Carlson, Deyoe, Gassman, Heartsill, Jones, Kaufmann, Landon, McKean, Sheets. Nay-Staed, Gaskill, Kurth, Lensing, Meyer, Nielsen, Thede, Wolfe. Excused-Kressig) Chairman Highfill recognized Representative Gassman on opening remarks on <u>HF 264</u>—A bill

Location: RM 19

for an act allowing city council members to serve a city's volunteer fire department without compensation in any position or capacity.

There was no discussion.

Chairman Highfill recognized Representative Gassman for closing remarks.

HF 264 passed as a committee bill with a roll call vote of 20-0. (Aye-Highfill, Hager, Staed, Bloomingdale, Carlson, Deyoe, Gaskill, Gassman, Heartsill, Jones, Kaufmann, Kressig, Kurth, Landon, McKean, Meyer, Nielsen, Sheets, Thede, Wolfe. Excused-Kressig.)

Chairman Highfill made announcements.

Representative Kaufmann moved to adjourn the meeting. The meeting was adjourned at 1:30.

Representative Jake Highfill

Haley O'Connor, Committee Secretary