House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for JUDICIARY

Date: February 22, 2017 Location: RM 102, Sup. Ct. Consult

Convened: *2:00 PM*

Adjourned: 3:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Baltimore-CH, Carlin-VC, Wolfe-RM, Gustafson, Heartsill,

Hein, Hinson, Jones, Koester, Lensing, McKean, Meyer, Nunn, Oldson, Olson,

Paustian, Rizer, Smith, R., Wessel-Kroeschell, Windschitl

Absent: Representative Bennett

Excused:

On February 22nd, 2017 at 2:00 P.M., an immediate House Judiciary meeting was held in Room 102.

At 2:01 P.M. the committee stands at ease as both parties go to caucus

At 2:27 P.M. the committee is called back to order

Roll Call was taken; Representative Bennett was absent.

As there were no corrections, amendments and/or deletions to the minutes of the past meeting, they were unanimously approved

Chairman Baltimore assigned the following bill:

HSB 150 Baltimore-Ch., Rizer, Wessell-Krocessel

HSB 158 Carlin-Ch., Windschitl, Bennett

HF 331 Paustian-Ch., Jones, Meyer

HF 339 Nunn-Ch., Heartsill, Olson

HF 375 Heartsill-Ch., Carlin, Wolfe

HF 377 Nunn-Ch., Carlin, Olson

The following bills were considered:

HF 146- Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Jones for opening comments. Discussion was now open. There was an amendment. Amendment 628 passed with a voice vote. With no further discussion Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Jones for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 14 (aye)-6(nay)-1(absent) the no votes were Representative Wolfe, Representative Lensing, Representative Oldson, Representative Olson, Representative R.Smith, and Representative Wessel-Kroeschell; the absent vote was Representative Bennett. HF 146 passed as amended as an individually sponsored bill.

HSB 109- Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Nunn for opening comments. Discussion was now open. With no further discussion Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Nunn for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 17 (aye)-3(nay)-1(absent)

the no votes were Representative Wolfe, Representative Lensing, and Representative Olson; the absent vote was Representative Bennett. <u>HSB 109</u> passed as a committee bill.

HSB 104- Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative McKean for opening comments. Discussion was now open. With no further discussion Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative McKean for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 13 (aye)-7(nay)-1(absent) the no votes were Representative Wolfe, Representative Lensing, Representative Meyer, Representative Oldson, Representative Olson, Representative R. Smith, and Representative WesselKroeschell; the absent vote was Representative Bennett. HSB 104 passed as a committee bill.

At 2: 39 P.M the committee stands at ease as the democrats go to caucus.

2:51 the committee is called back to order

HF 52- Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Carlin for opening comments. Discussion was now open. There was an amendment. Amendment 133 passed with a voice vote. With no further discussion Chairperson Baltimore recognized Representative Carlin for closing comments. The clerk called the vote 20 (aye)-0(nay)-1(absent) the absent vote was Representative Bennett. HF 52 passed as amended as an individually sponsored bill.

There was a motion and a second to adjourn, the motion passed and the committee adjourned at 3:00 P.M.

Represe	entative	Chip E	Baltimo	ore	
D 1	<u> </u>	<u> </u>	• 6	7 .	
Falvnn-	Griggs	. Comm	rittee S	Secretary	7