## COMMITTEE MINUTES for AGRICULTURE AND NATURAL RESOURCES APPROPRIATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE

Location: RM 305

February 14, 2017

Date:

Convened:	10:10 AM
Adjourned:	10:40 AM
Attendance Ro Present:	oll Call: Senators Shipley-CH, Brown-VC, Hart-RM, Kinney, Rozenboom; Representatives Mommsen-CH, Zumbach-VC, Ourth-RM, Bacon, Hein, Isenhart, Paustian, Prichard, Steckman
Absent:	
Excused:	
The Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee was called to order by Representative Mommsen in room 305. Roll call was taken with all legislators present. Minutes of the previous meeting were reviewed and approved.  Representative Mommsen introduced the speaker: Todd Coffelt, Parks Bureau Chief. Coffelt introduced Sherry Arntzen, Executive Officer at Iowa DNR State Parks Bureau. Arntzen gave a report on the Honey Creek Resort and State Park.  The Honey Creek Resort opened in 2008 for business as an economic advancement to the community. The Resort cost around \$60 million to build and was funded by tax exempt bonds, legislative appropriations and donations. The goals of Honey Creek include providing a quality destination in Iowa, maintaining and protecting the state investment, capital improvement and increased profitability, expanding the resort and acting as a gateway to the outdoors. In 2014, exploration of various management scenarios in a concession marketplace with a vested partner took place. In 2015, RFP issued for a 15 year concession contract. Delaware North Companies Parks and Resorts LLC took over operations in June 2016. The 0.5% concession fee can be used at Honey Creek Resort or any other state park once gross receipts exceed \$7 million. The real replenishment reserve will go towards updating Honey Creek throughout the years. Funds have already been used for golf course updates, waterpark updates, new refrigerators and linen replacements. The total asset value of Honey Creek Resort and State Park is over \$60 million. Discussion followed by Representative Bacon, Representative Steckman, Representative Zumbach, Senator Rozenboom, Representative Prichard and Representative Mommsen. With no further questions, Representative Bacon moved to arise.	
Representative Norlin Mommsen	
Tori Pavillard	. Committee Secretary