Senate Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: January 24, 2017

Location: RM 22

Convened: 3:05 PM Recessed: 3:10 PM

Reconvened: 3:50 PM

Recessed: 3:55 PM

Reconvened: 6:00 PM

Adjourned: 7:00 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Senators Schneider-CH, Kraayenbrink-VC, Bolkcom-RM, Boulton, Chelgren, Costello, Danielson, Dotzler, Garrett, Greene, Guth, Hart, Johnson, C., Lofgren, Mathis, McCoy, Ragan, Rozenboom, Shipley, Zumbach

Absent:

Excused: Senator Bertrand

Senator Schneider called to order the Senate Appropriations Committee meeting to order at 3:05 PM

Senator Bolkcom moved to approve the previous minutes from 01/11/2017, Senator Zumbach seconded the motion

The Senate Appropriations Committee the meeting minutes from 01/11/2017 were approved The Senate Appropriations Committee recessed for caucus at 3:08 PM

The committee meeting Reconvened at 3:50 PM

The Senate Appropriations Committee recessed for caucus at 3:51 PM

The committee meeting Reconvened at 6:00 PM

Senator Schneider yielded his responsibilities of chairman to Senator Kraayenbrink

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Schneider for opening remarks on Senate Study Bill (SSB) 1018

Senator Schneider gave his opening remarks on <u>SSB 1018</u>

Senator Kraayenbrink announced amendment <u>SSB 1018</u>.18 to the bill

Senator Bolkcom did not sign off on the amendment

Senator Kraayenbrink asked the Senate Appropriation Committee's members for consent to allow the Director of Iowa's Department of Management, Dave Roederer, to address the committee

The Committee allowed Director Roederer to answer questions from Committee members Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Danielson to address Director Roederer

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator McCoy to address Director Roederer and Senator Schneider

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Mathis to address Director Roederer

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Boulton to address Director Roederer

Senator Kraayenbrink excused Director Roederer from the meeting

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Bolkcom for opening remarks for amendment <u>SSB</u> 1018.18.29

Senator Bolkcom made his opening remarks

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Schneider for comments on amendment <u>SSB</u> 1018.18.29

Senator Bolkcom moved to vote on amendment <u>SSB 1018</u>.18.29,

Senator Bolkcom requests record vote

Senate Appropriation Committee voted 8 'ayes' to 12 'nayes', Amendment <u>SSB 1018</u>.18.29 failed to pass

Voted Aye: Senator Bolkcom, Senator Boulton, Senator Danielson, Senator Dotzler, Senator Hart, Senator Mathis, Senator McCoy, Senator Ragan

Voted Naye: Senator Schneider, Senator Kraayenbrink, Senator Chelgren, Senator Costello, Senator Garrett, Senator Greene, Senator Guth, Senator Johnson, Senator Lofgren, Senator Rozenboom, Senator Shipley, Senator Zumbach

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Bolkcom, Senator Bolkcom gave opening remarks for amendment <u>SSB 1018</u>.18.26

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Schneider to give comments on amendment <u>SSB</u> 1018.18.26

Senator Bolkcom gave closing remarks and moved to vote on <u>SSB 1018</u>.18.26 Senator Bolkcom requested record vote

Senate Appropriation Committee voted 8 'ayes' to 12 'nayes', Amendment <u>SSB 1018</u>.18.26 failed to pass

Voted Aye: Senator Bolkcom, Senator Boulton, Senator Danielson, Senator Dotzler, Senator Hart, Senator Mathis, Senator McCoy, Senator Ragan

Voted Naye: Senator Schneider, Senator Kraayenbrink, Senator Chelgren, Senator Costello, Senator Garrett, Senator Greene, Senator Guth, Senator Johnson, Senator Lofgren, Senator Rozenboom, Senator Shipley, Senator Zumbach

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Bolkcom, Senator Bolkcom gave opening remarks for amendment <u>SSB 1018</u>.18.28

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Schneider to give comments on amendment <u>SSB</u> 1018.18.28

Senator Bolkcom gave closing remarks and moved to vote on <u>SSB 1018</u>.18.28 Senator Bolkcom requested record vote

Senate Appropriation Committee voted 8 'ayes' to 12 'nayes', Amendment <u>SSB 1018</u>.18.28 failed to pass

Voted Aye: Senator Bolkcom, Senator Boulton, Senator Danielson, Senator Dotzler, Senator Hart, Senator Mathis, Senator McCoy, Senator Ragan

Voted Naye: Senator Schneider, Senator Kraayenbrink, Senator Chelgren, Senator Costello, Senator Garrett, Senator Greene, Senator Guth, Senator Johnson, Senator Lofgren, Senator Rozenboom, Senator Shipley, Senator Zumbach

Senator Kraayenbrink asked the committee for any more discussion concerning the original bill to the amendment - <u>SSB 1018</u>.18 - with no additional amendments to be presented

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Bolkcom for final comments on <u>SSB 1018</u>.18 Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Chelgren for final comments on <u>SSB 1018</u>.18 Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Garrett for final comments on <u>SSB 1018</u>.18

Senator Kraayenbrink recognized Senator Ootzler for final thoughts on <u>SSB 1018</u>.18 Senator Schneider delivers closing remarks for amendment <u>SSB 1018</u>.18 and moved to vote Senator Bolkcom requests a record vote

The Senate Appropriations Committee voted with 12 'ayes' and 8 'nayes', amendment <u>SSB</u> 1018.18 passed

Voted Aye: Senator Schneider, Senator Kraayenbrink, Senator Chelgren, Senator Costello, Senator Garrett, Senator Greene, Senator Guth, Senator Johnson, Senator Lofgren, Senator Rozenboom, Senator Shipley, Senator Zumbach

Voted Naye: Senator Bolkcom, Senator Boulton, Senator Danielson, Senator Dotzler, Senator Hart, Senator Mathis, Senator McCoy, Senator Ragan

Senator Kraayenbrink calls for a vote on <u>SSB 1018</u>

Senator Bolkcom requests record vote

The Senate Appropriations Committee voted with 12 'ayes' and 8 'nayes', <u>SSB 1018</u> passed as amended

Voted Aye: Senator Schneider, Senator Kraayenbrink, Senator Chelgren, Senator Costello, Senator Garrett, Senator Greene, Senator Guth, Senator Johnson, Senator Lofgren, Senator Rozenboom, Senator Shipley, Senator Zumbach

Voted Naye: Senator Bolkcom, Senator Boulton, Senator Danielson, Senator Dotzler, Senator Hart, Senator Mathis, Senator McCoy, Senator Ragan

Senator Kraayenbrink yielded the responsibilities of chairman back to Senator Schneider Senator Guth moved to arise

The Senate Appropriations Committee adjourned at 7:00 PM

Senator Charles Schneider

Mason Morgan, Committee Secretary