House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for TRANSPORTATION

Date: January 31, 2017

Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: 2:00 PM

Adjourned: 4:35 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Carlson-CH, Maxwell-VC, Forbes-RM, Bacon, Best, Cohoon, Finkenauer, Hager, Heddens, Hinson, Jacoby, Landon, Mohr, G., Olson, Ourth, Sieck, Taylor, R., Wills, Worthan

Absent:

Excused: Representatives Huseman, Smith, R.

Representative Carlson (CH) called the committee to order at 2:00pm. The Roll was taken. The minutes from the previous meeting were approved. The Chair assigned the following bills:

• HSB 66: Hager-CH, Maxwell, R. Smith

Michael Guanci and Adam Broich, from Iowa's Legislative Services Agency (LSA), delivered a presentation regarding the role of LSA, an overview of transportation funding, and an analysis of the Governor's fiscal year 2018 and 2019 recommendations.

The committee stood at ease at 2:13 pm for both parties to caucus. The committee recessed at 2:58pm. The committee reconvened at 4:08 pm.

Representative Carlson (CH) recognized Representative Worthan for opening remarks on <u>HSB</u> 9 (A bill for an act authorizing the use of primary road fund moneys for the secondary road and municipal street systems.) After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Worthan for closing remarks on <u>HSB 9</u>. Representative Worthan moved <u>HSB 9</u>. The bill passed with a roll call vote of 12 ayes to 7 nays (Forbes, Cohoon, Finkenauer, Heddens, Jacoby, Olson, Ourth) with two absent or not voting (Huseman, Smith, R). Having received a constitutional majority, the bill will move to the floor as a committee bill.

Representative Carlson (CH) recognized Representative Wills for opening remarks on <u>HSB 12</u> (A bill for an act increasing the maximum allowable length for single trucks operated on the highways of this state.) After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Wills for closing remarks on <u>HSB 12</u>. Representative Wills moved <u>HSB 12</u>. The bill passed with a roll call vote of 19 ayes to 0 with two absent or not voting (Huseman, Smith, R). Having received a constitutional majority, the bill will move to the floor as a committee bill. As there was no other business to come before the committee, Representative Forbes moved to arise.

The committee adjourned at 4:35 pm

Representative Gary Carlson

Nolan C Bursch , Committee Secretary