\*House Committee\*

## COMMITTEE MINUTES for LOCAL GOVERNMENT

Location: RM 19 Date: March 8, 2016 Convened: 1:00 PM 1:05 PM Recessed: Reconvened: 1:40 PM Adjourned: 1:55 PM Attendance Roll Call: Present: Representatives Koester-CH, Heartsill-VC, Staed-RM, Baxter, Branhagen, Carlson, Forbes, Gaskill, Gassman, Highfill, Hunter, Jones, Kaufmann, Kressig, Lensing, Mascher, Meyer, Rogers, Sheets, Thede Absent: Excused: Representative Kooiker

The House Local Government Committee was called to order at 1:02pm by Chair Koester in Room 19.

Roll call was taken. A quorum was present. The minutes of March 3 meeting were approved as distributed electronically. The committee recessed to their respective caucuses at 1:06pm. The committee reconvened at 1:42pm.

Chair Koester recognized Representative Branhagen for opening remarks on <u>SF 2276</u>. Representative Branhagen moved the bill. The bill was passed by a vote of 19 Ayes, 1 Nay and 1 absent. The Aye votes were Koester, Heartsill, Staed, Baxter, Branhagen, Carlson, Forbes, Gaskill, Gassman, Hunter, Jones, Kaufman, Kressig, Lensing, Mascher, Meyer, Rogers, Sheets and Thede. The nay vote was Highfill. Kooiker was absent.

Chair Koester recognized Representative Carlson for opening remarks on <u>SF 165</u>. Representative Carlson provided remarks and announced there are amendments. Chair Koester recognized Representative Carlson for Amendment 2936. Following remarks, Koester recognized Representative Gaskill for secondary amendment 2936.2997. Following remarks, Gaskill moved Amendment 2936.2997 short form. The amendment was moved and passed by voice vote.

Representative Carlson moved the amended Amendment 2936 short form which passed on a voice vote. Representative Carlson then moved the amended bill. <u>HF 165</u> was passed by a vote of 18 Ayes, 2 Nays and 1 absent. The Aye votes were Koester, Heartsill, Staed, Baxter, Branhagen, Carlson, Forbes, Gaskill, Gassman, Highfill, Hunter, Kaufman, Kressig, Lensing, Mascher, Meyer, Sheets and Thede. The nay votes were Jones and Rogers. Kooiker was absent.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Staed moved to adjourn at 1:54pm.

Representative Kevin Koester

Representative Kevin Koester

Linda Koester, Committee Secretary