House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: February 15, 2016 Location: RM 102, Sup. Ct. Consult

Convened: **4:00 PM**

Adjourned: 5:30 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Jorgensen-CH, Gassman-VC, Ruff-RM, Brown-Powers, Byrnes,

Cohoon, Dolecheck, Forristall, Fry, Gaines, Hanusa, Highfill, Koester, Mascher,

Moore, T., Salmon, Sieck, Staed, Stanerson, Steckman, Winckler

Absent:

Excused: Representatives Abdul-Samad, Hanson

Representative Jorgensen (CH) called the committee to order at 4:01 pm Roll was taken.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

The Chair assigned the following bills:

- HF 2205: Byrnes-CH, Fry, Abdul-Samad
- HF 2213: Jorgensen-CH, Moore, Steckman
- HSB 620: Hanusa-CH, Byrnes, Ruff
- HJR 2006: Moore-CH, Fry, Cohoon
- HF 2229: Stanerson-CH, Sieck, Ruff
- HF 2230: Highfill-CH, Koester, Staed
- HF 2251: Koester-CH, Gassman, Winckler
- HF 2252: Highfill-CH, Salmon, Mascher
- SF 2092: Forristall-CH, Jorgensen, Steckman
- SF 2093: Forristall-CH, Jorgensen, Steckman

The committee recessed at 4:05 pm for party caucuses.

The committee reconvened at 4:46 pm.

Representative Jorgensen (CH) recognized Representative Gassman for opening remarks on HSB 570 (A study bill for authorizing the college student aid commission to write off certain defaulted student loan debt as uncollectible). After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Gassman for closing remarks on HSB 570. Representative Gassman moved HSB 570. The bill passed with a roll call vote of 21 ayes to 0 nays with two absent or not voting (Abdul-Samad and Hanson). Having received a constitutional majority, the bill will move to the floor as a committee bill.

Representative Jorgensen (CH) recognized Representative Stanerson for opening remarks on HSB 545 (A study bill relating to reading and literacy requirements for practitioner preparation programs). After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Stanerson for closing remarks on HSB 545. Representative Stanerson moved HSB 545. The bill passed with a roll call vote of 21 ayes to 0 nays with two absent or not voting (Abdul-Samad and Hanson). Having received a constitutional majority, the bill will move to the floor as a committee bill.

Representative Jorgensen (CH) recognized Representative Forristall for opening remarks on HSB 603 (A study bill for providing for computer science and computer coding instruction in the minimum state education curriculum and providing for a related computer science advisory council to be convened by the director of the department of education and including applicability provisions). After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Forristall for closing remarks on HSB 603. Representative Forristall moved HSB 603. The bill passed with a roll call vote of 13 ayes to 8 nays (Ruff, Brown-Powers, Cohoon, Gaines, Mascher, Staed, Steckman, and Winckler) with two absent or not voting (Abdul-Samad and Hanson). Having received a constitutional majority, the bill will move to the floor as a committee bill.

Representative Jorgensen (CH) recognized Representative Moore, T. for opening remarks on HSB 602 (A study bill relating to the duties and authority of the state board of education, the department of education, and local school districts and to the programs and activities under the purview of the state board and the department). Representative Moore, T. noted there is an amendment.

The Chair recognized Representative Moore, T. for opening remarks on amendment <u>HSB</u> 602.2546. After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Moore, T. for closing remarks on amendment <u>HSB 602</u>.2546. Representative Moore, T. moved the amendment. The amendment was adopted by a voice vote.

After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Moore, T. for closing remarks on <u>HSB</u> 602 as amended. Representative Moore, T. moved <u>HSB 602</u> as amended. The bill passed with a roll call vote of 21 ayes to 0 nays with two absent or not voting (Abdul-Samad and Hanson). Having received a constitutional majority, the bill will move to the floor as a committee bill.

Representative Jorgensen (CH) recognized Representative Fry for opening remarks on HF 2061 (A bill for an act relating to the accreditation of nonpublic schools by independent accrediting agencies approved by the state board of education). After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Fry for closing remarks on HF 2061. Representative Fry moved HF 2061. The bill passed with a roll call vote of 14 ayes to 7 nays (Ruff, Brown-Powers, Cohoon, Gaines, Mascher, Steckman, and Winckler) with two absent or not voting (Abdul-Samad and Hanson). Having received a constitutional majority, the bill will move to the floor as a committee bill.

As there was no other business to come before the committee, Representative Fry moved to arise.

· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
Representative Ron Jorgensen
Nolan Bursch , Committee Secretary

The committee adjourned at 5:27 pm.