House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for EDUCATION

Date: February 4, 2016 Location: RM 102, Sup. Ct. Consult

Convened: *11:30 AM*

Adjourned: 12:50 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Jorgensen-CH, Gassman-VC, Ruff-RM, Abdul-Samad, Brown-

Powers, Byrnes, Cohoon, Dolecheck, Forristall, Fry, Gaines, Hanson, Hanusa, Highfill, Koester, Mascher, Moore, T., Salmon, Sieck, Staed, Stanerson,

Steckman, Winckler

Absent:

Excused:

Representative Jorgensen (CH) called the committee to order at 11:33am.

The Roll was taken.

The minutes from the previous meeting were approved.

The Chair assigned the following bills:

- HF 2119: Highfill-CH, Koester, Staed
- HF 2128: Highfill-CH, Forristall, Steckman
- HF 2138: Highfill-CH, Moore, Staed
- HF 2139: Highfill-CH, Fry, Mascher
- HSB 569: Gassman-CH, Dolecheck, Abdul-Samad
- HSB 570: Gassman-CH, Sieck, Steckman

The committee recessed at 11:35am for party caucuses.

The committee reconvened at 12:25 pm.

Representative Jorgensen turned the chair over to Representative Gassman.

Representative Gassman (CH) recognized Representative Jorgensen for opening remarks on HSB 551 (A study bill relating to education funding by extending the period of time for collecting sales tax for deposit in the secure an advanced vision for education fund, modifying uses for funding received from the secure an advanced vision for education fund, and authorizing school districts to adopt a district cost per pupil equity budget adjustment.) After discussion, the Chair recognized Representative Jorgensen for closing remarks on HSB 551. Representative Jorgensen moved HSB 551. The bill passed with a roll call vote of 16 ayes to 6 nays (Abdul-Samad, Brown-Powers, Gaines, Mascher, Staed, and Winckler) and one absent or not voting (Sieck). Having received a constitutional majority, the bill will move to the floor as a committee bill. Representative Gassman turned the chair back to Representative Jorgensen. As there was no other business to come before the committee, Representative Salmon moved to arise.

The committee adjourned at 12:49 pm.

Kepresemany	ve Ron Jorgensen
Nolan Bursch	n, Committee Secretary