House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for HUMAN RESOURCES

Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Date: January 20, 2016

Convened: *1:05 PM*

Recessed: 1:10 PM

Reconvened: 1:25 PM

Adjourned: 1:30 PM

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Miller, L.-CH, Bacon-VC, Wessel-Kroeschell-RM, Abdul-Samad, Anderson, Best, Brown-Powers, Dawson, Forristall, Fry, Gaines, Gustafson, Heaton, Heddens, McConkey, Moore, T., Rizer, Salmon, Sieck, Taylor, R., Winckler

Absent:

Excused:

The meeting was called to order by the Chair, Rep. Linda Miller at 1:00 PM.

Roll was called and all were present.

The minutes from the previous meeting, January 12, 2016 were approved.

The following bills were assigned Subcommittees: <u>HSB 501</u>: Ch. Heaton, Rep. Heddens, Rep. Rizer <u>HSB 502</u>: Ch. L. Miller, Rep. R. Taylor, Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell <u>HSB 503</u>: Ch. L. Miller, Rep. Brown-Powers, Rep. Fry <u>HSB 511</u>: Ch. L. Miller, Rep. Abdul-Samad, Rep. Fry <u>HSB 532</u>: Ch. R. Taylor, Rep. T. Moore, Rep. Anderson <u>HSB 533</u>: Ch. Heaton, Rep. Bacon, Rep. Heddens <u>HSB 534</u>: Ch. Sieck, Rep. Best, Rep. Abdul-Samad

Both parties went to caucus at 1:10 PM.

The committee reconvened at 1:25 PM.

The Chair recognized Rep. Heaton for opening remarks on <u>HSB 501</u>, a study bill relating to the reimbursement rate for juvenile shelter care homes and including effective date and retroactive applicability provisions. Additional comments were made by Rep. Bacon. Following discussion of the bill, a role call vote was taken. Having received 21 ayes, 0 nays, and 0 excused, <u>HSB 501</u> passed as a committee bill.

An explanation for the delay of <u>HSB 502</u> was given by Rep. Miller.

Following comments from Rep. Wessel-Kroeschell, assignments of <u>HF 600</u>, <u>SF 329</u>, <u>HF 420</u>, and <u>HF 647</u> were postponed so the Democrat member of each bill could be assigned.

Seeing no further business, Rep. Salmon moved that the meeting adjourn. The chair adjourned the meeting at 1:30 PM.

Representative Linda J. Miller

Lauren Wendl, Committee Secretary