House Committee

COMMITTEE MINUTES for APPROPRIATIONS

Date: April 30, 2015 Location: RM 103, Sup. Ct. Chamber

Convened: *11:00 PM*

Adjourned: 12:00 AM (05/01/2015)

Attendance Roll Call:

Present: Representatives Soderberg-CH, Rizer-VC, Hall-RM, Bacon, Bearinger, Deyoe,

Dolecheck, Drake, Dunkel, Fisher, Forbes, Heaton, Heddens, Huseman, Landon, Mascher, Oldson, Rogers, Running-Marquardt, Sexton, Stutsman, Taylor, R.,

Taylor, T., Thede, Worthan

Absent:

Excused:

Chair Soderberg called the Appropriations Committee to order at 10:59 pm. Roll was called; quorum present. Minutes from the April 29, 2015, meeting were approved.

Chair Soderberg recognized Representative Deyoe for opening remarks on <u>SF 499</u> – A bill for an act making appropriations to the department of cultural affairs, the economic development authority, the Iowa finance authority, the public employment relations board, the department of workforce development, and the state board of regents and certain regents institutions, modifying programs and duties of the economic development authority, providing for other properly related matters, and including effective date and retroactive and other applicability provisions. (Formerly <u>SSB 1281</u>.)

The Chair recognized Representative Deyoe for opening comments on Amendment 499.1619. The Chair then recognized Representative Deyoe for opening comments on Amendment 499.1758, an amendment to 499.1619. Discussion followed. Representative Deyoe was recognized for closing comments and Amendment 499.1758 passed, 25-0. The Chair redirected the committee to Amendment 499.1619, as amended. Discussion followed. Representative Deyoe was recognized for closing comments and Amendment 499.1758 passed, 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede.

Chair Soderberg redirected the committee back to <u>SF 499</u>, as amended. Discussion followed. The Chair recognized Representative Deyoe for closing remarks and Representative Deyoe moved the bill as amended. <u>SF 499</u>, as amended, passed 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede. With passage, <u>SF 499</u>, as amended, moves to the House floor as a Senate bill with a committee amendment.

Chair Soderberg recognized Representative Worthan for opening remarks on <u>SF 497</u> – A bill for an act relating to appropriations to the justice system, and including effective date provisions. (Formerly <u>SSB 1284</u>.)

The Chair recognized Representative Worthan for opening comments on Amendment 497.1729. Discussion followed. Representative Worthan was recognized for closing comments and the amendment passed, 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede.

Chair Soderberg redirected the committee back to <u>SF 497</u>, as amended. Discussion followed. The Chair recognized Representative Worthan for closing remarks and Representative Worthan moved the bill as amended. <u>SF 497</u>, as amended, passed 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede. With passage, <u>SF 497</u>, as amended, moves to the House floor as a Senate bill with a committee amendment.

Chair Soderberg recognized Representative Worthan for opening remarks on <u>SF 496</u> – A bill for an act relating to appropriations to the judicial branch. (Formerly <u>SSB 1283</u>.)

The Chair recognized Representative Worthan for opening comments on Amendment 496.1731. Discussion followed. Representative Worthan was recognized for closing comments and the amendment passed, 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede.

Chair Soderberg redirected the committee back to <u>SF 496</u>, as amended. Discussion followed. The Chair recognized Representative Worthan for closing remarks and Representative Worthan moved the bill as amended. <u>SF 496</u>, as amended, passed 14-11. Representatives voting yes: Soderberg, Rizer, Bacon, Deyoe, Dolecheck, Drake, Fisher, Heaton, Huseman, Landon, Rogers, Sexton, Taylor, R, and Worthan. Representatives voting no: Hall, Bearinger, Dunkel, Forbes, Heddens, Mascher, Oldson, Running-Marquardt, Stutsman, Taylor T, and Thede. With passage, <u>SF 496</u>, as amended, moves to the House floor as a Senate bill with a committee amendment.

With no further business to come before the committee, Representative Worthan moved to arise at 12:01 am.

Repres	sentative	e Chucl	k Soder	berg	
Sarah	Vanderr	oloeg. (Commi	ttee Secreta	rv